Saturday Dover Xfinity race: Start time, TV info, weather


Josh Berry looks for his second consecutive win at Dover Motor Speedway on Saturday.

Should he do so, it would mark the first victory of the season for JR Motorsports. The four-car team has two runner-up finishes this season (Justin Allgaier at Las Vegas and Sam Mayer at Fontana) but no wins. This is the first season JR Motorsports hasn’t won in the first nine races of the season since 2012.

Cole Custer, Sheldon Creed, Jeb Burton and pole-sitter Parker Kligerman will be racing for the $100,000 Dash 4 Cash bonus.

Details for Saturday’s Xfinity race at Dover Motor Speedway

(All times Eastern)

START: Two-time World Series champion Johnny Damon will give the command to start engines at 1:38 p.m. … The green flag is scheduled to wave at 1:47 p.m.

PRERACE: Xfinity garage opens at 10:30 a.m. … Driver introductions begin at 1 p.m. … The invocation will be given by Chaplain Dewayne Ragland from Dover Air Force Base at 1:30 p.m. … The national anthem will be performed by JAGMAC at 1:31 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 200 laps (200 miles) on the 1-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 45. Stage 2 ends at Lap 90.

STARTING LINEUP: Dover Xfinity starting lineup

TV/RADIO: FS1 will broadcast the race at 1:30 p.m. and also can be seen on ... NASCAR RaceDay airs at 12:30 p.m. … Performance Racing Network coverage begins at 1 p.m. and can be heard on … SiriusXN NASCAR Radio will carry the PRN broadcast.

FORECAST: Weather Underground — Cloudy with a high of 64 degrees and a 20% chance of rain at the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Josh Berry led the final 55 laps to win last April’s race. JR Motorsports teammate Justin Allgaier placed second. Ty Gibbs finished third.

Dover Xfinity starting lineup


Rain canceled Xfinity qualifying on Friday, putting Parker Kligerman on the pole.

Cole Custer will start second. Sheldon Creed will start third. Jeb Burton, who won last weekend’s Xfinity race at Talladega, will start fourth. Rookie Parker Retzlaff will start fifth.

MORE: Dover Xfinity starting lineup

Kligerman, Custer, Creed and Burton are eligible for the $100,000 Dash 4 Cash bonus.

The race is scheduled to begin at 1:47 p.m. ET Saturday.

Talladega Xfinity results, driver points


TALLADEGA, Ala. — Jeb Burton survived two overtimes to win Saturday’s Xfinity race at Talladega Superspeedway for his second career series victory.

Burton gave car owner Jordan Anderson his first series win.

MORE: Talladega Xfinity results

MORE: Xfinity points after Talladega race

Sheldon Creed finished second and was followed by Parker Kligerman, Cole Custer and Brennan Poole. Custer won the $100,000 Dash 4 Cash bonus.

Nineteen of the 38 cars failed to finish in a race that had 10 cautions and saw one car roll six times and another car land on its roof. Only Blaine Perkins, who climbed out of his car after it rolled six times, was transported to a local hospital for further evaluation. All other drivers were released from the infield care center.

Austin Hill leads the season standings by four points on John Hunter Nemechek. Chandler Smith is 19 points behind Hill.


Jeb Burton wins wreck-filled Talladega Xfinity race


TALLADEGA, Ala. — Jeb Burton scored his second career Xfinity Series race, taking the checkered flag in a race that went to double overtime, saw one car roll six times and another car end up upside down.

Sheldon Creed finished second. Parker Kligerman placed third. Cole Custer finished fourth. Brennan Poole completed the top five.

This the first Xfinity victory for Jordan Anderson Racing Bommarito Autosport, which began competing in the series in 2021.

The race featured 10 cautions. There were 48 caution laps out of the 121 laps run.

Blaine Perkins was taken to a local hospital for further evaluation after his car rolled six times down the backstretch at the end of the second stage. Perkins climbed from his car after it was involved in a multi-car crash that also saw Dexter Stacey slam the inside wall. Stacey was uninjured.

Daniel Hemric‘s car rolled halfway over and stopped upside down after a crash two laps from the scheduled finish. He was leading when he went down the track to the bottom lane to block and had contact with Sheldon Creed. Hemric’s car came up the track and was struck by other cars and got on its roof.

“I didn’t honestly think I was as far as out as I was and I tried to (come) back,” Hemric said after exiting the infield care center. “I feel like the move I made was late with the run (Sheldon Creed) had. Trying to find a way to win a speedway race.”

Custer won the $100,000 Dash 4 Cash bonus after Sammy Smith, John Hunter Nemechek and Josh Berry were eliminated in incidents.

“This is the happiest I’ve ever been finishing fourth,” Custer said.

Stage 1 winner: Justin Allgaier

Stage 2 winner: Jeb Burton

Who had a good race: Any driver who finished. Half of the 38-car field failed to finish. … Sheldon Creed matched his career-best finish of second. … Parker Kligerman matched his career-best finish of third. … Caesar Bacarella finished a career-high sixth. … Ryan Ellis finished a career-high 11th.

Who had a bad race: The 19 drivers who failed to finish, including Daniel Hemric (21st), Chandler Smith (25th), Justin Allgaier (28th), Sam Mayer (29th), Josh Berry (30th) and John Hunter Nemechek (32nd).

Next: The series races April 29 at Dover (1:30 p.m. ET on FS1)

COTA Truck race results: Zane Smith wins


Reigning series champion Zane Smith won Saturday’s Craftsman Truck Series race at Circuit of the Americas for the second year in a row.

The victory is Smith’s second of this year.

MORE: COTA Truck race results

MORE: Truck points after COTA

Kyle Busch finished second and was followed by Ty Majeski, Tyler Ankrum and Ross Chastain.

The key moment came when Parker Kligerman‘s truck came to a stop on the frontstretch at Lap 28. Smith, running second, made it to pit road before it was closed. Busch, who was leading, had already passed pit road entrance.

Smith gained the lead with the move, while Busch had to pit under the caution and restarted 16th. Smith was able to build a lead and beat Busch by 5.4 seconds.

Stage 1 winner: Christian Eckes

Stage 2 winner: Kyle Busch

Who had a good race: Ty Majeski’s third-place finish is his best of the season. … Tyler Ankrum’s fourth-place finish is his best of the year. … Corey Heim has finished sixth two races in a row. … Rookie Nick Sanchez finished seventh, giving him back-to-back top 10s.

Who had a bad race: Parker Kligerman was running third when electrical issues forced him to stop on track just after the end of the second stage. … After winning the first stage, Christian Eckes had mechanical issues and had to pit for repairs, costing him several laps.

Notable: Front Row Motorsports has won the Truck COTA race all three years. Todd Gilliland won the race in 2021 and Zane Smith has won it the past two years.

Next: The series races April 1 at Texas Motor Speedway (4:30 p.m. ET on FS1).

NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series XPEL 225
COTA winner Zane Smith’s truck catches fire after he did his burnout on the frontstretch. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)