Getty Images

Starting lineup for the 60th Daytona 500

1 Comment

The lineup for the 60th Daytona 500 was finalized Thursday night in the Can-Am Duels at Daytona International Speedway.

Alex Bowman has the pole and Denny Hamlin starts second. They earned those spots in pole qualifying on Sunday.

Ryan Blaney starts third and Chase Elliott starts fourth after they won their qualifying races.

Forty cars will take the green flag in Sunday’s race (2:30 p.m. ET on Fox).

Jimmie Johnson, Aric Almirola, Brad Keselowski, William Byron, Kyle Larson, Austin Dillon, Matt DiBenedetto and David Gilliland all will go to backup cars and start at the rear of the field.

Click here for the starting lineup.

Order of Daytona 500 pole qualifying

Getty Images
1 Comment

Forty cars will attempt to qualify on the front row of the 60th Daytona 500 on Sunday during pole qualifying at Daytona International Speedway.

No drivers will fail to make the field.

The full Daytona 500 starting lineup will be established on Thursday in the Can-Am qualifying duels.

The No. 24 car has won the pole the last three years (Jeff Gordon – 2015; Chase Elliott –  2016-17).

Pole qualifying begins at 12:15 p.m. ET on Fox.

Click here for the qualifying order.

William Byron fastest in second Daytona 500 practice

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Rookie William Byron posted the fastest speed in the second practice session for the 60th Daytona 500.

The driver of the No. 24 Chevrolet put down the top speed of 201.681 mph around the 2.5-mile track.

The Hendrick Motorsports’ driver led Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (201.649), Joey Logano (201.608), Denny Hamlin (201.464) and David Ragan (201.054).

Hamlin recorded the most laps in the session with 24. All 40 cars in the field made a lap in the session. There were no accidents.

Logano had the best 10-lap average at 198.239 mph.

Byron had a close call toward the end of the session while running in a pack of cars. Byron, running in the middle of the track, drifted down and touched the right rear of Stenhouse, briefly getting the No. 17 Ford loose.

“That was one of those ‘Oh, shoot’ moments,” Byron told Fox Sports 1. “That was a lot of fun. That was the best chance for me to really learn what I needed to do in the draft. I’m really glad we got it warmed up in the draft. It’s chance also to see how our Axalta Chevy handles. It handles good, it has a lot of speed. Hopefully we can keep that going and just learn a little bit. Definitely, he lanes are always jostling. Especially in practice you don’t really have a clear lane of where you’re supposed to be. It’s good for me to learn that.”

Cup teams will return to the track tomorrow for Daytona 500 pole qualifying and the Advance Auto Parts Clash.

Click here for the speed chart.

Kyle Busch leads Joe Gibbs Racing sweep in first Daytona 500 practice

Getty Images

Kyle Busch led a Joe Gibbs Racing sweep of the top four spots in the first practice session for the 60th Daytona 500.

Busch’s No. 18 Toyota put up a top speed of 199.743 mph.

He was followed by Denny Hamlin (199.623), Daniel Suarez (199.610) and Erik Jones (199.517) and Richard Childress Racing’s Austin Dillon (197.278).

The JGR cars jumped to the top of the standings when they began drafting together late in the session.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was the fastest Ford driver at 195.389 mph. He was eighth on the speed chart.

A.J. Allmendinger recorded the most laps in the session with 16.

He and William Byron were the only driver to make 10-lap runs.

BK Racing’s No. 23 Toyota, which will be driven by Gray Gaulding, was the only car not to make a lap in the session.

The red flag was out for a lengthy stretch in the middle of the session to clean up fluids on the track. It was lifted with 13 minutes left in the session.

Saturday’s second Daytona 500 practice is scheduled for 3-3:55 p.m. ET

Click here for the speed chart.

A.J. Allmendinger’s team finishes second in class in Rolex 24 at Daytona

Michael Shank Racing
Leave a comment

A.J. Allmendinger got his 2018 racing season started with a podium finish in his team’s class in the Rolex 24 at Daytona over the weekend.

Competing for Michael Shank Racing, Allmendinger and his three teammates finished second in the GTD class.

The No. 83 Michael Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3 was driven by Katherine Legge, Alvaro Parente, Trent Hindman and Allmendinger.

The team placed 22nd overall in the race that began Saturday afternoon.

Allmendinger, who competes for JTG Daugherty Racing in the Cup Series, extended his mark of leading every Rolex 24 he’s raced in during his overnight stent. He led 25 laps for the GTD class. Allmendinger has competed in the race 12 times. He was an overall winner in 2012.

“This might be the most tired I’ve ever been,” Allmendinger said. “It probably was not a wise call on my part not to run an air hose to my helmet. But this Acura NSX GT3 has been fun to drive. I love Michael Shank and I love this race team. The spotters especially, (Mike) Sweeney and Ben (Waddell), it was a team effort. That last stint, I was starting to get the chills inside the car. But this is what the Rolex 24 is all about: the last four hours you give everything you’ve got.”

MORE: Rolex 24: Action Express hang on for victory, Ganassi gets 200th win

Allmendinger wasn’t the only NASCAR driver taking part in the endurance race.

Austin Cindric, who will compete for Roush Fenway Racing in the Xfinity Series, contributed to a sixth place in the Prototype class for JDC-Miller Motorsports.

Brendan Gaughan was part of a 42nd overall finish for BAR1 Motorsports. Driving a Multimatic/Riley LMP2, the team finished 14th in the Prototype class.

Xfinity drivers Ty Majeski and Cole Custer, competing with Scott Maxwell, placed third in the Grand Sport class for the Multimatic Race team in the four-hour Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge race on Friday.

“It was a really fun race,” Custer said in a team release. “Doing the driver swaps, we weren’t perfect, but we were able to do them pretty quickly. It was a really strange but fun thing to do. I’m really glad Ford Performance is helping us get some more experience with road course stuff. It was a great race.”

Cindric and Chase Briscoe also competed in the race, but were relegated to a 22nd-place finish after a mechanical failure.