Vankor 350

Getty Images

Kyle Busch wins Truck Series race at Texas Motor Speedway


Kyle Busch won Friday night’s Gander Outdoors Truck Series race at Texas Motor Speedway, giving him wins in the last four Truck Series races.

Busch held off Stewart Friesen over the last 20 laps to score the win as Friesen settled for his fifth runner-up finish in 53 starts.

Busch has now won four of the season’s first five races. He has won his last five Truck Series starts and six of his last eight starts. He finished second in the other two.

The top five was completed by Johnny Sauter, Grant Enfinger and Matt Crafton.

Busch led 97 of the race’s 147 laps.

Defending series champion Brett Moffitt led 33 laps but finished 19th. He suffered damaged late after contact with Ben Rhodes while racing among the leaders.

“The 24 (Moffitt) was who I was really worried about,” Busch told Fox Sports 1. “(Friesen) put up a good fight. About got to me there a couple of times. Fortunately, I was able to hold out.”

Click here for race results

Click here for points report

STAGE 1 WINNER: Grant Enfinger

STAGE 2 WINNER: Kyle Busch

WHAT’S NEXT: The Truck Series is off until May 3 at Dover International Speedway


Grant Enfinger wins pole for Truck Series race in Texas

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Grant Enfinger won the pole for tonight’s Gander Outdoors Truck Series race at Texas Motor Speedway.

It is Enfinger’s fourth pole in 65 career starts and his first this year. He claimed the top spot with a speed of 187.350 mph.

He will be joined on the front row by Brett Moffitt (187.143 mph).

The top five is completed by Sheldon Creed, Kyle Busch and Austin Hill.

The top 10 is filled by Tyler Ankrum, Johnny Sauter, Ben Rhodes, Stewart Friesen and Harrison Burton.

The truck race is scheduled to start at 9 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1

Click here for the starting lineup.


Entry lists for NASCAR at Texas

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Here are the entry lists for this weekend’s races at Texas Motor Speedway:

Cup – O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 (3 p.m. ET Sunday on Fox)

Forty cars are entered. The No. 97 Chevrolet of Obaika Racing has not named a driver yet.

Non-Cup regulars entered include B.J. McLeod (No. 52 Ford of Rick Ware Racing), Timmy Hill (No. 66 Toyota of Motorsports Business Management), Garrett Smithley (No. 77 Chevrolet of Spire Motorsports) and Parker Kligerman (No. 96 Toyota of Gaunt Brothers Racing).

Kyle Busch, who will once again go for the third weekend sweep of his career, entered in the Cup, Xfinity and Truck Series races. He’s the only driver in NASCAR history to have won races in three national series at the same track in the same weekend. Both of those previously came at Bristol Motor Speedway (2010, 2017).

Click here for the Cup Series entry list.

Xfinity – Bariatric Solutions 300 (1 p.m. ET Saturday on Fox Sports 1)

Forty cars are entered.

Cup drivers entered: Busch (No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota) and Brad Keselowski (No. 12 Team Penske Ford). 

Click here for the Xfinity Series entry list.

Trucks – Vankor 350 (9 p.m. ET Friday on Fox Sports 1)

Thirty-two trucks are entered.

Cup drivers entered: Busch (No. 51 Toyota of Kyle Busch Motorsports), Bubba Wallace (No. 22 Chevrolet of AM Racing and Ross Chastain (No. 45 Chevrolet for Niece Motorsports).

Click here for Truck entry list