USAC Midget

Indianapolis Motor Speedway announces format, purse for USAC Midget race

1 Comment

Indianapolis Motor Speedway announced the format and purse for the Driven2SaveLives BC39 USAC Midget race that will be run in conjunction with the Brickyard 400 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series event this fall.

The event is expected to draw a wide variety of dirt and paved racers, including Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Kyle Larson.

Two days of racing are on the calendar, with hot laps and heats run on September 5 and a series of Main events to be run September 6.

Ten-lap heat races will be filled by a random draw that determines both which heat a driver is in as well as starting position. Passing points will be earned during the heats and determine who will compete in Thursday’s series of Mains.

Thursday will feature an alphabet soup of Main events. If more than 87 cars are entered, a G Main will kick off the racing. It will include the drivers with the lowest number of passing points. The top-four finishers from that race, plus drivers 59th through 72nd in passing points, will then compete in an F Main with the top four drivers advancing to the next Main.

The top four drivers in each Main will advance to the next race.

The G, F and E Mains will be made up of 10 laps each. The D Main will consist of 12 laps, C-Main of 15 laps and the B-Main will be 20 laps.

The top-six finishers from the B-Main will advance to the A.

The A Feature will be 39 laps. It will have up to 26 starters – the top 16 drivers with the most accumulated passing points, plus six who advance from the B, two USAC provisional drivers (if needed) and two track options.

The unique distance of 39 laps is in honor of Bryan Clauson, who sported that number. Clauson lost his life in a Midget race in August 2016 at Belleville (Kansas) High Banks Speedway.

Featuring a $15,000-to-win payday, it will be the most lucrative event in Midget racing, which has several drivers looking for a car to run.

Kyle Larson, Christopher Bell and Chase Briscoe to compete in USAC’s Turkey Night Grand Prix

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kyle Larson, Christopher Bell and Chase Briscoe are not done with their racing calendar.

The NASCAR drivers will in California tomorrow night to compete in the 77th annual Turkey Night Grand Prix, a 98-lap USAC Midget race at Ventura Raceway.

Larson, who won four Cup races this season and finished third in the season finale, is the defending “Turkey Night” winner and won it for the first time in 2012. This is his third USAC Midget appearance of the year.

Bell, days removed from clinching the Camping World Truck Series championship, will attempt to win the race after claiming victory in 2014.

Briscoe, who will drive for Roush Fenway Racing in the Xfinity Series next year, is coming off his first Truck Series win at Homestead-Miami Speedway and Rookie of the Year honors.

Other past “Turkey Night” winners include Billy Boat (1995-96) and Jason Leffler (2005).

Cars will be on track beginning at 6:30 p.m. ET.

The 98-lap race can be watched live here and on demand the day after the race here.