NASCAR America: How winning feels after a long winless streak

Leave a comment

Winning is sweet, but it can be even sweeter when you haven’t done so in a long time.

NASCAR America discussed what winning feels like after a long winless stretch, beginning with Dale Earnhardt Jr.‘s 2005 victory at Chicagoland Speedway.

The win for Earnhardt came 20 races after his last visit to victory lane at Phoenix at the end of the 2004 season.

“Going through those times when you’re not successful, not winning races makes you appreciate what winning feels like in that moment of joy,” Earnhardt told Nate Ryan. “It really makes you long for it and miss it and need it. I don’t know that we felt like we were going to be in a position to have that. We hadn’t run well enough to feel, ‘Man, a win’s right around the corner.”

But thanks to strategy and having a fast car “when we needed it” Earnhardt led the final 11 laps to take the checkered flag.

“That took a lot of pain away, that took a lot of frustration away, that took a lot of heartache away,” Earnhardt said.

Analysts Steve Letarte and Kyle Petty discussed their own victories that snapped winless streaks. Letarte chose his 2009 win at Texas Motor Speedway. It was Gordon’s first win since 2007 and his first win at Texas.

“Winless with Jeff Gordon is not a good place to be,” Letarte said. “You asked yourself, ‘Would it ever come again? What was gone? Where did the magic go?’ Not only was it a win that we needed, it was a win at a track that he had never won at. A track that was really snakebitten for Jeff Gordon. That made it even more special.”

Watch the above video for more.

Race results, Truck Series point standings after Texas

Photo by Robert Laberge/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Johnny Sauter won his fifth race at Texas Motor Speedway and for the third time in 2018 by conserving both his fuel and tires in a 55-lap run at the end of the PPG 400.

Stewart Friesen seesawed throughout the night after leading the field to green from the pole. He finished second following a late-race charge through the field.

Justin Haley, Grant Enfinger and Matt Crafton rounded out the top five.

Click here for race results.

Sauter’s win padded his lead to 77 points over Noah Gragson, who finished 10th at Texas.

Brett Moffit was involved in two incidents during the night and lost 30 points to the leader, but maintained his position third in the standings.

Grant Enfinger (96 points behind Sauter) and Matt Crafton (-99) round out the top five.

Click here for the complete points.

Stewart Friesen wins Texas Truck pole

Photo by Robert Laberge/Getty Images
Leave a comment

With a speed of 185.103 mph, Stewart Friesen won the pole for tonight’s PPG 400. He picked up nearly one second over his first round time of 184.130 mph.

This is Friesen’s second career pole. Coming out of the DIRTcar Big Block Modified series, hiss first pole came last year on the dirt track of Eldora Speedway.

Friesen snagged the top spot from Todd Gilliland as the final driver to hit the track. Gilliland will line up second with a speed of 184.951 mph.

Last year’s pole winner of this race, Noah Gragson (184.761 mph) lines up third.

Spencer Davis (184.483) and Johnny Sauter (184.074) round out the top five.

Click here for the complete lineup.


Truck Series practice report from Texas Motor Speedway

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Chris Eggleston was fastest in the only Camping World Truck Series practice session Friday at Texas Motor Speedway.

The final practice was cancelled due to weather.

Eggleston posted a top speed of 180.886 mph around the 1.5-mile track. He made 17 laps in the session.

He was followed by Noah Gragson (180.548 mph), Johnny Sauter (180.445), Stewart Friesen (180.313) and Grant Enfinger (179.611).

Spencer Davis, who was 12th fastest, recorded the most laps with 30.

Sauter, Davis and Joe Nemchek were the only drivers to make 10-lap runs.

Click here for the practice report.

Weekend schedule at Michigan, Texas

Getty Images
Leave a comment

All three of NASCAR’s national seres are in action this weekend. Cup and Xfinity teams compete at Michigan International Speedway. Camping World Truck Series teams race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Here’s the weekend schedule for both tracks:




2 – 8 p.m. — Truck garage open

4:05 – 4:55 p.m. — Truck practice (No TV)

6:05 – 6:55 p.m. — Final Truck practice (No TV)



1 p.m. — Truck garage opens

5:45 p.m. — Truck qualifying; single vehicle/two rounds (Fox Sports 2)

7 p.m. — Driver/crew chief meeting

8:35 p.m. — Driver introductions

9 p.m. — PPG 400 Truck race; 167 laps/250.5 miles/403 kilometers (Fox Sports 1, Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)


8:30 a.m. – 6 p.m. — Cup garage open

9:30 a.m. – 6 p.m. — Xfinity garage open

11:30 a.m. – 12:20 p.m. — Cup practice (FS2, MRN)

1:05 – 1:55 p.m. — Xfinity practice (FS2)

3:05 – 3:55 p.m. — Final Xfinity practice (FS1)

4:10 p.m. — Cup qualifying; multi-vehicle/three rounds (FS1, MRN)

5:30 p.m. — ARCA race (MAVTV)



6:30 a.m. — Xfinity garage opens

7:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. — Cup garage open

9:05 – 9:55 a.m. — Cup practice (FS1, MRN)

10:05 a.m. — Xfinity qualifying; single vehicle/two rounds (FS1)

11:45 a.m. — Xfinity driver/crew chief meeting

Noon – 12:50 p.m. — Final Cup practice (FS2, MRN)

1 p.m. — Xfinity driver introductions

1:30 p.m. — LTi Printing 250 Xfinity race; 125 laps/250 miles (Fox, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)


8:30 a.m. — Cup garage opens

Noon — Driver/crew chief meeting

1:20 p.m. — Driver introductions

2 p.m. — Firekeepers Casino 400; 200 laps/400 miles (Fox, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)