race results

Sonoma Cup results, points report

Leave a comment

Martin Truex Jr. scored his fourth Cup victory in eight races, holding off Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch over the closing laps Sunday at Sonoma Raceway.

Truex became the second driver to win consecutive Cup races at Sonoma, joining Jeff Gordon (who won three straight from 1998-2000).

Ryan Blaney finished third, followed by a career-best fourth place for Matt DiBenedetto and a fifth for Denny Hamlin.

It was the 23rd career victory for Truex, who has three wins at Sonoma. The 2017 series champion led three times for 59 laps, including the final 24.

Click here for the full results from the Sonoma race.

Click here for the full race report from Sonoma.

In the season standings, Ryan Newman moved into the 16th spot in the standings with a seventh at Sonoma, clinging to the final provisional playoff spot with 10 races remaining in the regular season.

Newman has a one-point edge over Jimmie Johnson, who finished 12th at Sonoma and slid a spot to 17th in the standings. Erik Jones (eighth at Sonoma) is five points behind Newman in 18th.

At the top of the standings, Joey Logano (23rd at Sonoma) leads by one point over Kyle Busch.

Click here for the Sonoma points standings.

Results, points after the Gander RV 400 at Dover

Leave a comment

Martin Truex Jr. came from the rear and dominated the field to win Monday’s postponed Cup race at Dover International Speedway.

Truex claimed his third career Dover win with a 9.5 second margin of victory over Alex Bowman.

It’s Bowman’s second consecutive runner-up finish following last weekend’s race at Talladega.

The top five was completed by Kyle Larson, Kevin Harvick and Chase Elliott.

Kyle Busch finished 10th to tie the series record for top 10s to start a season with 11 (Morgan Shepherd, 1990).

Click here for the results.

Point Standings

Kyle Busch has a five-point lead over Joey Logano through 11 races.

Harvick trails Busch by 63 points.

The top five is completed by Denny Hamlin (-77) and Truex (-82).

Click here for the full standings.

Results, points after Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond

Leave a comment

Martin Truex Jr. led 186 laps and held off a charging Joey Logano to win Saturday night’s Cup race at Richmond Raceway.

It’s Truex’s first short-track win in the Cup Series and his first overall win for Joe Gibbs Racing

The top five was completed by Clint Bowyer, Kevin Harvick and Denny Hamlin.

After a speeding penalty early in Stage 2, Kyle Busch bounced back to finish eighth. He has not finished outside the top 10 through nine races.

Click here for race results.

Point standing

Busch remains the points leader through nine races with 400 points

Logano is second, trailing him by 20 points.

The top five is completed by Hamlin (-34 points), Harvick (-51) and Brad Keselowski (-87).

After his win, Truex is sixth in the standings (-89).

Click here for the full standings.

Results, points standings after Texas Cup race

Leave a comment

Denny Hamlin rebounded from a shaky day in the pits to triumph Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway for his second Cup victory of the season.

Clint Bowyer finished second, followed by Daniel Suarez, Erik Jones and pole-sitter Jimmie Johnson, who scored his first top five since 10 months ago in the 2018 Coca-Cola 600.

All seven races this season have been won by drivers with Joe Gibbs Racing or Team Penske.

Click here for the race results Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway.


Kyle Busch remained the leader in the standings with 310 points, eight ahead of his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin.

Kevin Harvick is the highest ranked winless driver in third.

Click here for the points standings after Texas.

Results, points after the Auto Club 400

Leave a comment

Even with a speeding penalty on Lap 123 Kyle Busch dominated to win Sunday’s Cup race at Auto Club Speedway and earn his 200th national NASCAR series win.

Busch led 134 of 200 laps to score the win. He led seven times for 134 laps including the final 26.

He is the first repeat winner this year in Cup.

The top five was completed by Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick and Ryan Blaney.

Kurt Busch placed sixth and was the top finishing Chevrolet driver. The elder Busch brother has four straight top 10s.

Pole-sitter Austin Dillon fought through feeling ill in the morning to finish 10th for his first top 10 of the season.

Click here for the results.


Kyle Busch holds the points lead after claiming his second win of the year.

He has a 15-point lead over Logano.

The top five is completed by Harvick (-24 points), Denny Hamlin (-32) and Keselowski (-61).

Click here for the full point standings.