Getty Images

Christopher Bell wins pole for Xfinity Charlotte race

Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. —  Christopher Bell will start first in today’s Xfinity Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Bell won his third pole of the season with a speed of 184.313 mph. His previous poles were at Texas Motor Speedway and ISM Raceway.

The top five is completed by Cole Custer (183.187 mph), Tyler Reddick (182.192), Austin Dillon (181.659) and Brandon Jones (181.610).

Justin Haley will start 35th after an axle broke on his No. 11 Chevrolet in the middle of his qualifying run.

Ross Chastain did not finish his qualifying run after experiencing an electrical problem in the ignition on his No. 4 Chevrolet. He will start 37th out of 38 cars.

The Alsco 300 is scheduled to start at 1:16 p.m. ET on FS1.

Click here for the starting lineup.

Check back for more.

William Byron wins pole for Coca-Cola 600

Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. —  William Byron won the pole for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Byron claimed the top spot with a qualifying speed of 183.424 mph. At the age of 21, he’s the youngest Coca-Cola 600 pole-sitter.

It’s Byron’s second career Cup pole, joining his pole in this year’s Daytona 500.

He beat out Aric Almirola (183.069 mph), Kyle Busch (182.933), Austin Dillon (182.766) and Kevin Harvick (182.741).

“This is awesome, a dream come true,” Byron told FS1. “Obviously, I grew up in Charlotte so I came to this race every year. It’s a dream come true to qualify on the pole next to Hendrick Motorsports across the street over there. … Can’t think of a better way to start the weekend.”

Byron has qualified on the front row five time this year and four times in the last seven races.

The pole is the 12th for Hendrick Motorsports in the 600, which leads all teams.

Busch has qualified in the top three for the last three 600s.

Corey LaJoie‘s No. 32 Ford failed pre-qualifying inspection twice, resulting in the ejection of an engineer.

Click here for qualifying results.

Kevin Harvick wins Cup pole at Kansas, leads Stewart-Haas Racing sweep

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kevin Harvick won the provisional pole for Saturday’s Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway, leading a Stewart-Haas Racing sweep of the top four positions in qualifying Friday.

Harvick, the defending winner of the Digital Ally 400, claimed the pole with a speed of 179.217 mph. It is his 28th Cup Series pole and his third this year.

The top five is completed by Aric Almirola, Clint Bowyer, Daniel Suarez and Chase Elliott. This is the second time SHR has swept the first four positions (Fall Talladega 2018).

“The mile-and-a-half race tracks have been quite a handful for us as we’ve gone through the beginning of the season,” Harvick told Fox Sports 1. “From new cars and different engines and different headers and body builds, new sim files and aero maps, you name it. This is the next step. … Everybody knew we were a little bit behind. We saw some light at some Texas. Everybody’s done a great job and Bush Beer Ford is really fast and drive well in traffic.”

The pole is Harvick’s fifth at Kansas, which is his most at any track and a track record.

It is the fourth time Almirola has qualified on the front row this year.

“Our Ford Mustangs are fast and I like it,” Almirola said. “It is fun when you show up to the race track and have a lot of speed. It has been tough to show up to these race tracks and just not feel like we were one of the cars to beat, so it feels good to show up here and have the speed we have today and I am looking forward to the race tomorrow night. Hopefully we can carry that speed through the rest of the race.”

Filling out the top 10 is Martin Truex Jr., William Byron, Kyle Larson, Brad Keselowski and Alex Bowman.

Kyle Busch qualified 13th.

This weekend’s race is an impound race. Inspection will be conducted Saturday before the race. If a car fails once, their time is disqualified and will have to start from the rear.

Click here for the qualifying results.

Matt Crafton wins Truck Series pole at Kansas Speedway

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Matt Crafton won the pole for Friday night’s Gander Outdoors Trucks Series race at Kansas Speedway.

Crafton claimed his 14th career pole with a speed of 177.288 mph. It’s his first pole since August 2017 at Michigan.

The top five is completed by Tyler Ankrum, Harrison Burton, Brett Moffitt and Todd Gilliland.

The top 10 is rounded out by Ross Chastain, Austin Hill, Gus Dean, Sheldon Creed and Stewart Friesen.

Jennifer Jo Cobb spun and backed into the Turn 4 wall during her qualifying run.

Click here for qualifying results.


Michael Annett wins Xfinity pole at Talladega

Getty Images
1 Comment

Michael Annett, the winner of the season opener at Daytona, claimed the pole for today’s Xfinity Series race at Talladega Superspeedway.

He earned the pole with a top speed of 189.264 mph. It the first career pole for Annett in 238 Xfinity starts.

“We got Brenda Jackson riding with us, that’s worth 10 horsepower, right?” Annett told Fox Sports 1. “She’s gonna watch over us all day, all four cars.”

Jackson, the mother of JR Motorsport’ co-owners Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Kelley Earnhardt Miller, passed away earlier this week from cancer.

The top five is completed by Tyler Reddick, Ross Chastain, Ryan Sieg and Justin Haley.

The top 10 is rounded by Brett Moffitt, Jeffrey Earnhardt, Gray Gaulding, Chase Briscoe and Christopher Bell.

Brandon Jones (13th), Noah Gragson (14th), John Hunter Nemechek (15th) and Austin Cindric (17th) were among those who did not advance to the final round.

Green flag for the MoneyLion 300 will start at 1:19 p.m. ET on FS1.

Click here for qualifying results.