point standings

Results, final point standings after Xfinity championship race

Leave a comment

Tyler Reddick led the final 19 laps and won Saturday’s Xfinity Series season finale to claim the 2019 series championship and his second in a row.

The top five was completed by Cole Custer, Chase Briscoe, Noah Gragson and Christopher Bell.

Reddick’s win is his sixth of the year.

Click here for the race results.

Point standings

Click here for the point standings.

Results, playoff standings after Cup playoff race at Texas


Kevin Harvick led 119 laps from the pole to claims his fourth Cup Series win of the year Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway.

Harvick also became the second driver to clinch a spot in the Nov. 17 championship race at Homestead-Miami Speedway, joining Martin Truex Jr.

It is his third straight win in the playoff race at Texas.

The top five was completed by Aric Almirola, Daniel Suarez, Joey Logano and Alex Bowman.

Logano earned his first top-five finish of the playoffs.

With his win, Harvick tied Tony Stewart on the all-time wins list with his 49th victory.

John Hunter Nemechek finished 21st in his Cup Series debut.

Click here for the race results.

Playoff standings

There are now only two spots left unclaimed for four the championship race.

Kyle Busch and Joey Logano currently occupy those spots.

Chasing them are Denny Hamlin (-20), Ryan Blaney (-23), Kyle Larson (-23) and Chase Elliott, who with a 78 point deficit will have to win to be able to advance

Click here for the full point standings.

Results, points after Xfinity playoff race at Texas

Leave a comment

Christopher Bell claimed his eighth Xfinity Series win of the season Saturday night at Texas Motor Speedway.

He led 101 of 200 laps and beat Ross Chastain, Austin Cindric, Brandon Jones and John Hunter Nemechek.

Bell clinched one of the four spots in the championship race at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Click here for the race results.

Playoff standings

With one race left before the championship round, here’s how the playoff standings look.


Click here for the full point standings.

Results, points from NASCAR Cup elimination race at Kansas

1 Comment


Denny Hamlin earned his fifth – and perhaps biggest – win of the season in Sunday’s Cup playoff elimination race at Kansas Speedway.

Even though Hamlin was already locked into the upcoming Round of 8 on points heading into Sunday’s race, taking the win gave him extra momentum for next Sunday’s start of the three-race semifinal round at Martinsville Speedway, where Hamlin has five career wins (tied for the most Cup wins he’s earned at a racetrack with Pocono Raceway).

Four drivers were eliminated from advancing into the next round Sunday: Brad Keselowski, William Byron, Alex Bowman and Kansas native Clint Bowyer. Keselowski got bottled up on the final restart and fell three positions in the final two laps, effectively going from being in the next round points-wise to being eliminated when he crossed the finish line.

I got sandwiched … and just all bad, didn’t do a good enough job,” Keselowski said. “It is what it is. I don’t like it, but it’s (championship hopes) all over now.”

Chase Elliott finished second, earning enough points to pass Keselowski and move on to the Round of 8.

We had to stay fighting in these things, especially these late-race restarts,” Elliott said. “You have to fight. … If you want to get to Homestead, that’s what you have to do. We’re excited to move on.”

Kyle Busch finished third, Kurt Busch was fourth and Byron finished fifth.

Click here for the results.


Eight drivers move on to the Round of 8, from which four drivers will emerge after the race at Phoenix and advance to race for the championship at Homestead-Miami Speedway a month from now.

Those eight drivers (and their unofficial reseeded points) are: Kyle Busch (4,046 points), Martin Truex Jr. (4,042), Denny Hamlin (4,037), Joey Logano (4,030), Kevin Harvick (4,028), Chase Elliott (4,024), Kyle Larson (4,011) and Ryan Blaney (4,009.

Click here for the reseeded standings.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Results, point standings after Truck Series playoff race at Talladega

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Spencer Boyd won his first career Truck Series race Saturday at Talladega Superspeedway after Johnny Sauter was penalized on the last lap.

The top five was completed by Todd Gilliland, Riley Herbst, Brett Moffitt and Stewart Friesen.

Click here for the race results.

Point standings

With Boyd’s win it prevented any playoff driver from securing a spot in the championship race.

Tyler Ankrum and Ross Chastain are the two drivers outside the cutline with two races left in the second round.

Ankrum is one point behind Matt Crafton and Chastain is one point behind Ankrum.

Click here for the point standings.