Phoenix Raceway

Results, stats for TicketGuardian 500 at ISM Raceway

Leave a comment

Kevin Harvick led 38 laps Sunday at ISM Raceway and won his third consecutive Cup race.

Harvick beat Kyle Busch and Chase Elliott.

The win is Harvick’s 40th in the Cup Series. It’s also his ninth win at the 1-mile track.

Busch was runner-up to Harvick for the second week in a row.

Elliott’s top five is the first for Hendrick Motorsports this season.

Click here for the race results.


Today’s Cup race at Phoenix: Start time, lineup, TV/Radio and more

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Cup series is in action today as it continues its West Coast swing at ISM Raceway, the 1-mile track formerly known as Phoenix Raceway.

Martin Truex Jr. has the pole for the TicketGuardian 500. He will seek to become the fourth different driver to win this season.

Below is all the information for today’s race.

(All times are Eastern)

START:  Bryan Derbyshire, CEO of TicketGuardian and his wife Kristen and son Hudson will give the command to start engines at 3:37 p.m. The green flag is scheduled to wave at 3:44 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 312 laps (312 miles) around the 1-mile track.


STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 75. Stage 2 ends on Lap 150.

PRERACE SCHEDULE: Garage opens at 10 a.m. Driver/crew chief meeting is at 1:30 p.m. Driver introductions are at 3 p.m.

TV/RADIO: Fox will broadcast the race beginning at 3 p.m. Race coverage begins at 3:30 p.m. Motor Racing Network’s radio broadcast begins at 2:30 p.m. and also can be heard at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will have MRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: calls for a high of 75 degrees and sunny skies at the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Ryan Newman won this race last year over Kyle Larson and Kyle Busch. Matt Kenseth won the fall playoff race, leading the last 10 laps and beating Chase Elliott and Martin Truex Jr.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for the starting lineup.

CARS TO THE REAR: Jeffrey Earnhardt (backup car), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (backup car), DJ Kennington (unapproved tire change).

Brad Keselowski wins DC Solar 200 at ISM Raceway

Getty Images

Brad Keselowski won the DC Solar 200 at ISM Raceway, visiting Victory Lane in his first Xfinity Series start of the year.

The Team Penske driver led 67 of 200 laps to score his 37th Xfinity Series victory.

He beat pole-sitter Justin Allgaier, Kyle Busch, Christopher Bell and Jamie McMurray.

Keselowski put himself in position to win during green flag pit stops when he beat Bell off pit road with 32 laps to go. He then cycled through to the lead.

He bounced back from committing a speeding penalty on Lap 49.

“I felt like the car was better than me today,” Keselowski told Fox Sports 1. “Justin Allgaier quite honestly out drove me most of the day. At the end we connected it with great pit stops, great pit work and good strategy. Got out there on brand new tires and just barely got by Christopher there and I knew once we got by ourself the car would probably carry me a little bit.”

Allgaier, the defending winner of the race, led a race-high 76 laps.

The race began at 4:15 p.m. ET and was stopped twice for rain.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Justin Allgaier

STAGE 2 WINNER: Kyle Busch

MORE: Race results and point standings

WHO HAD A GOOD DAY: Christopher Bell earned his third consecutive top five … Jamie McMurray finished fifth in his first Xfinity start since 2013 … Kaz Grala led eight laps, the first laps of his career, and finished 12th … Elliott Sadler finished ninth after starting from the rear (engine change). He is the only driver to finish in the top 10 of all four races … Austin Cindric finished 16th. This was the first race in which he didn’t wreck while driving Roush Fenway Racing’s No. 60 Ford.

WHO HAD A BAD DAY: David Starr brought out the first caution on Lap 27 when his engine expired. He finished 39th … Matt Mills got into the Turn 2 wall, bringing out the caution on Lap 84. He finished 38th.

NOTABLE: There has been no repeat winner through four races … The race ended with a 104-lap stretch under green, the second longest to end a race at ISM.

POSTRACE INSPECTION: Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch each had one unsecured lug nut. The penalty for that is a fine.

WHAT’S NEXT: Auto Club 300 at Auto Club Speedway at 5 p.m. ET on March 17 on FS1.

Xfinity race in Phoenix resumes as Kyle Busch wins Stage 2

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The DC Solar 200 resumed from a second red flag period with a one-lap shootout to end Stage 2, won by Kyle Busch.

Busch beat out Daniel Hemric, Cole Custer, Jamie McMurray and Ryan Truex.

The race was halted on Lap 87 of 200, three laps from the end of the stage

The red flag was issued during a caution for a Matt Mills‘ accident.

The first red flag period came after the end of Stage 1 and lasted for over one hour.

Kevin Harvick fastest in final Cup practice at ISM Raceway

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kevin Harvick posted the top speed in the final practice session for Sunday’s TicketGuardian 500 at ISM Raceway.

The eight-time winner at the track in Avondale, Arizona, topped the speed chart at 134.544 mph. He was also fastest in Saturday’s first practice session.

Harvick had the best 10-lap average at 133.612 mph.

The Stewart-Haas Racing driver is attempting to win his third straight Cup race.

Harvick led Jamie McMurray (134.504), Martin Truex Jr. (134.454), Aric Almirola (134.213) and Alex Bowman (134.193).

Joey Logano recorded the most laps in the session with 67. He was 18th on the speed chart.

Click here for the speed chart.