overton’s 200

Results, stats for Xfinity race at New Hampshire

Leave a comment

Kyle Busch claimed his third Xfinity win of the year with a 10 second margin of victory over Ryan Preece in the Overton’s 200 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

The top five was completed by William Byron, Kyle Larson and Brad Keselowski.

Only six cars finished on the lead lap in a race that was slowed by one accident and a 45-minute rain relay.

Click here for the race results

Kyle Busch wins New Hampshire Xfinity race from the pole for third win of year


Kyle Busch ran away in the closing laps to win the Xfinity Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway by 10 seconds over second place.

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver led 77 laps from the pole and beat Ryan Preece, William Byron, Kyle Larson and Brad Keselowski for his third win in six starts this year.

Busch took the lead during green flag pit stops, which he began with 30 laps left in the 200-lap race

Busch’s biggest challenger, Keselowski, had to serve a pass through penalty after his last pit stop due to his gas can leaving the pit box as the No. 22 exited the box. Keselowski led 102 laps.The race saw 13 lead changes after only having three in 2016.

“You can’t always count on the fastest car to win the race, I guess ” Busch told NBCSN at the start-finish line. “We can count on teamwork. We had that today and my guys did a great job in the pits and they gave me a great piece in order to go out here and contend with them. We put the pressure on, kept them close enough that I knew when we pit they were going to have to pit right after us, probably in a hurry because we were going to have a lap of tires on them. Overall, just a great day.”

Stage 1 winner: Kyle Larson

Stage 2 winner: Brad Keselowski

MORE: Race Results

MORE: Points standings

WHO HAD A GOOD DAY: Ryan Preece finished second and led two laps in his first Xfinity start of the year. His career-best finish came in his 37th start. Preece also won and placed second in two support races at NHMS this weekend … William Byron finished third for his fourth top-three finish in the last five races … Ben Kennedy finished sixth for his second top 10 of the year and his first since finishing fourth at Talladega.

WHO HAD A BAD DAY: David Starr brought out the only non-stage ending caution on Lap 30 when a brake issue caused him to spin and back into the Turn 2 wall. He finished 30th … Justin Allgaier left the race on Lap 84 for a transmission problem. He returned to the race on Lap 109 and finished 32nd … Rookie Spencer Gallagher had mechanical problem mid-race that caused him to finish 35th, 44 laps down.

NOTABLE: Only six cars finished on the lead lap … The race was stopped for roughly 45 minutes for rain that paused the race on Lap 31.

QUOTE OF THE DAY: “This one is for all the short track guys out there that might never get the opportunity but work week in and week out with that modified,” – Ryan Preece after finishing second in the Overton’s 200.

Xfinity race at New Hampshire resumes after rain delay

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Xfinity Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway has resumed after a 45 minute red-flag period for rain.

The red flag was displayed on Lap 31 of the Overton’s 200, which is airing on NBCSN.

This is the third Xfinity race in a row that has been delayed in some form for weather. The races at Daytona and Kentucky were delayed to Sunday due to rain.


Kyle Busch wins pole for Xfinity Series race at New Hampshire

Getty Images
1 Comment

Kyle Busch will start from the pole of the Xfinity Series’ Overton’s 200 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway after posting a speed of 129.353 mph.

It is Busch’s fifth pole of the year in six Xfinity starts and the 62nd of his career.

“We were adjusting on it every single round just to try to continue to get it better to where I could push it harder,” Busch told NBCSN. “Obviously I gave it everything it had and there’s no more.”

Following Busch in the top five were Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Matt Tifft and Daniel Hemic.

Tifft’s fourth-place start is his best of the season.

Driving the No. 20 Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing his first start of the year, Ryan Preece qualified sixth.

Busch said there is still the “unknown” of how much the track will change with the addition of the PJ1 traction agent that has been applied to the track’s turns.

“That stuff is kind of wearing off,” Busch said. “We saw in Cup practice just continually going away, so we’ll see more of it as the day goes on with all the racing that’s going on here.”

Rookie William Byron will start seventh followed by Elliott Sadler in eighth.

Ben Kennedy will start 13th in the No. 2 Chevrolet for Richard Childress Racing. Blake Koch qualified 14th and Dakoda Armstrong 15th.

Dylan Lupton is OK and will start last after being involved in a once-car crash in the first round. Lupton’s No. 24 Toyota spun exiting Turn 2 and went nose-first into the inside wall.

Click here for full qualifying results.

Today’s Xfinity race at New Hampshire: Start time, weather, TV/radio info

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Can Kyle Busch pick up in today’s Overton’s 200 where he left off in last year’s race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway?

The younger Busch brother, who was fastest in both Xfinity practice sessions on Friday, is the defending winner of this race.

In fact, Busch has won five of the last eight Xfinity races at the 1.058-mile flat track in Loudon, N.H.

Here are the particulars for today’s Xfinity race:

(All times are Eastern)

START: Parker Overton, Founder of Overton’s, will give the command to start engines at 4:07 p.m. Green flag is set for 4:16 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 200 laps (211.6 miles) around the 1.058-mile speedway.

ANTHEMS: Canadian Anthem by Noah Thompson at 3:58 p.m. U.S. Anthem by Voices of Hope at 4:01 p.m.

STAGES: Stage 1 laps 1-45; Stage 2 laps 46-90.

PRERACE SCHEDULE: The Xfinity garage opens at 7:30 a.m. Driver introductions are at 3:30 p.m.

TV/RADIO: NBCSN will broadcast the race. Coverage begins at 3:30 p.m. Performance Racing Network’s broadcast on radio and at goprn.com begins at 3:30 p.m. SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the PRN broadcast.

FORECAST: The wunderground.com site predicts 75 degrees at race time with a 50 percent chance of rain at the start of the race.

LAST YEAR: Kyle Busch dominated, leading 190 of 200 laps to win. Erik Jones was second, followed by Brad Keselowski.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for the starting lineup.

 Follow @JerryBonkowski