NASCAR Xfinity

Getty Images

Entry lists for NASCAR at Darlington

Leave a comment

The Lady In Black. The Track Too Tough To Tame.

Whatever you call Darlington, one thing is for certain: it’s one of the most difficult tracks in NASCAR.

This weekend, the Cup and Xfinity Series will both be challenged by Darlington’s 1.366-mile egg-shaped oval.

The Gander Outdoors Truck Series is off this weekend. It returns to action at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on September 13.

Here’s the entry lists for Cup and Xfinity at Darlington:

CUP — Bojangles’ Southern 500 (6 p.m. ET Sunday on NBCSN)

There are 39 cars entered for this race.

Joe Nemechek will be in the No. 27 Premium Motorsports Chevrolet.

BJ McLeod is in the No. 51 Petty Ware Racing Ford.

JJ Yeley is in the No. 52 Rick Ware Racing Ford

Garrett Smithley is in the No. 54 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet.

Joey Gase is in the No. 66 Motorsports Business Management Toyota.

Reed Sorenson is in the No 77 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet.

Click here for the entry list.

Xfinity– Sport Clips Haircuts VFW 200 (4 p.m. ET Saturday on NBC)

There are 38 cars entered for this race.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will make his lone start of the year in the JR Motorsports’ No. 8 Chevrolet

Ryan Blaney will be in the No. 12 Team Penske Ford.

Denny Hamlin will be in the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota.

Joe Nemechek is listed as the driver in the No. 17 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet.

Stefan Parsons makes his third career start (and of the season) in the No. 99 B.J. McLeod Motorsports Toyota.

Click here for the entry list.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

NASCAR penalty report after New Hampshire

Leave a comment

Two Xfinity Series crew chiefs were fined for rules violations in this week’s NASCAR penalty report.

Mike Shiplett, crew chief for the No. 00 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford driven by Cole Custer, was fined $5,000 for improperly installed lug nuts.

Also Jason Burdett, crew chief for the No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet driven by Justin Allgaier, was also fined $5,000 for improperly installed lug nuts.

There were no other penalties assessed in either the Xfinity or NASCAR Cup series.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Xfinity practice report from Mid-Ohio

Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Ryan Reed was the fastest in opening Xfinity practice Friday at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Reed led the way with a lap of 94.709 mph. He was followed by Andy Lally (94.499 mph), Kyle Benjamin (94.371), Brendan Gaughan (94.295) and Austin Cindric (94.277).

Benjamin ran the most laps at 26. Kaz Grala was next with 25 laps. Grala was 19th on the speed chart with a top lap of 93.241 mph.

A few cars had issues.

Christopher Bell, who was 10th on the speed chart at 94.009 mph, spun off course but continued. Daniel Hemric, Dylan Murcott and Gaughan also slid off course but continued.

Click here for Xfinity practice report

Final Xfinity practice will run from 4:05 to 4:55 p.m. ET today and can be seen on the NBC Sports App and online. Rain is in the forecast there this afternoon.


Because of rain only five cars recorded a lap in the final session. Most teams did not go out since Saturday’s race is expected to be in dry conditions.

Brendan Gaughan had the fastest lap at 87.738 mph. He ran five laps in the session.

Click here for final practice report

2019 Xfinity, Gander Outdoors Truck Series schedules released

Getty Images
1 Comment

NASCAR released the 2019 schedules for the Xfinity Series and the Gander Outdoors Truck Series on Wednesday.

The 33-race Xfinity schedule opens Feb. 16 at Daytona and ends Nov. 16 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. The races are in the same order as the 2018 Xfinity schedule. There are no new venues for 2019. The series will have five Friday races, 27 Saturday races and one Sunday race.

The 23-race Gander Outdoors Truck Series opens Feb. 15 at Daytona and ends Nov. 15 at Homestead. There are two changes to the 2019 schedule from this year.

Pocono and Eldora will flip-flop. Pocono will precede Eldora on the 2019 schedule. Pocono will be July 27 and Eldora moves to Aug. 1.

The other change to the schedule is that the Texas Truck race typically held in the fall will move to the spring. That event will be March 29 next season.

That means the playoffs now will open Aug. 15 at Bristol Motor Speedway with the Aug. 10 race at Michigan International Speedway as the regular-season cutoff.

The Truck schedule features three Thursday races, 11 Friday races, eight Saturday races and one Sunday race.

Here are the 2019 schedules for both series (start times will be announced later):

Xfinity, Camping World Truck Series entry lists for Daytona are released

Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Forty-six Xfinity cars are entered for Saturday’s race at Daytona International Speedway and there are 36 entries for Friday’s Camping World Truck Series race.

Both preliminary entry lists were released Monday.

Six Cup drivers are entered in the Xfinity race: Austin Dillon, Daniel Suarez, Joey Logano, Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott and Aric Almirola.

Ryan Reed won the Xfinity race last year. Kaz Grala, who is entered in the Xfinity race this year, won last year’s Truck race.

Click here for Xfinity entry list

Click here for Camping World Truck Series entry list