NASCAR K&N Pro Series East

Getty Images

Appeals panel upholds stiff penalties vs. David Gilliland, Ty Gibbs

Leave a comment

The National Motorsports Appeals Panel on Wednesday reaffirmed penalties against defending NASCAR K&N Pro Series East championship DGR Crosley team owner David Gilliland and driver Ty Gibbs.

However, the panel rescinded a penalty against car chief Chad Walters.

All three were originally assessed a P6 level penalty — the most severe in the K&N Series — for holding a private test on Jan. 14 at New Smyrna Speedway in Florida. While the team claimed the test was allowed because they were running an ARCA engine in the No. 17 K&N East team car, the appeals panel affirmed Gilliland and Gibbs violated NASCAR rules.

A NASCAR spokesperson told NBC Sports on the day the penalties were issued (Jan. 31) that the team used a NASCAR-approved spec engine in the test, not an ARCA engine. The use of the engine violated the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East Series testing policy, which specifically prohibits testing at a sanctioned track on the 2019 K&N Pro Series East schedule.

MORE: David Gilliland, Ty Gibbs given heavy penalties for violating preseason testing rules

The penalties assessed came from the following sections in the 2019 NASCAR Rule Book: Sections 12-5.3.7 and 12-5.3.7.1.5:

* Gilliland was fined $5,000; assessed with the loss of 100 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East Championship car owner points for the 2019 NKNPSE season; was suspended from the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East until the completion of the third NASCAR K&N Pro Series East event; and placed on NASCAR probation through December 31, 2019.

Per the appeals panel on Wednesday, all of the original penalties against Gilliland remain in place.

* Gibbs, the 16-year-old grandson of NASCAR Cup team owner Joe Gibbs, was fined $5,000; assessed with the loss of 100 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East Championship driver points for the 2019 NKNPSE season; was suspended from the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East until the completion of the third NASCAR K&N Pro Series East event; and placed on NASCAR probation through December 31, 2019.

Per the appeals panel on Wednesday, all of the original penalties against Gibbs remain in place.

Gibbs replaced Tyler Ankrum, who led DGR Crosley to the K&N East championship last season..

* Walters was originally fined $5,000 and suspended from the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East indefinitely.

Per the appeals panel on Wednesday, the penalties against Walters were rescinded.

The three members of the appeals panel are Dixon Johnston, Bill Mullis and Dale Pinilis.

Gilliland and Gibbs have the right to further appeal Wednesday’s decision to the National Motorsports Final Appeals Officer in accordance with Section 15 of the NASCAR Rule Book.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

NASCAR, NBCSN announce 2019 regional series broadcast schedule

Getty Images
Leave a comment

NASCAR and the NBC Sports Group on Friday announced the 2019 broadcast schedules for the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and West, as well as the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. All races will air on NBCSN.

The overall schedule features a total of 37 regional events at 27 different racetracks across the U.S., including each series’ openers and championship finales.

Things kick off on Wednesday, Feb. 13, at 6 p.m. ET, with the K&N Pro Series East opener that takes place this Sunday at Central Florida’s New Smyrna Speedway.

The K&N Pro Series West season opener at The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway airs Tuesday, March 5, at 6 p.m. ET.

The Whelen Modified Tour season opener at Myrtle Beach Speedway airs Thursday, March 21, at 6 p.m. ET.

As for airing dates and times for each series’ championship races, they are: K&N Pro Series East, Friday, Oct. 11, at Dover International Speedway; Whelen Modified Tour, Thursday, Oct. 17, at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park; and the K&N Pro Series West, Thursday, Nov. 14, at ISM Raceway.

Here’s the full schedule (all times Eastern):

NBCSN COVERAGE
RACE DATE SERIES TRACK AIR DATE TIME
Sun, Feb 10 K&N Pro East New Smyrna Speedway Wed, Feb 13 6 p.m.
Thu, Feb 28 K&N Pro West Las Vegas Motor Speedway Tue, Mar 05 6 p.m.
Sat, Mar 16 Whelen Modified Myrtle Beach Speedway Thu, Mar 21 6 p.m.
Sat, Mar 30 Whelen Modified South Boston Speedway Wed, Apr 03 4 p.m.
Sat, Mar 30 K&N Pro West Irwindale Speedway Wed, Apr 03 6 p.m.
Sat, Apr 06 K&N Pro East Bristol Motor Speedway Thu, Apr 11 4 p.m.
Sat, May 04 K&N Pro East South Boston Speedway (Twin #1) Wed, May 08 6 p.m.
Sat, May 04 K&N Pro East South Boston Speedway (Twin #2) Thu, May 09 6 p.m.
Sat, May 11 K&N Pro West Tucson Speedway (Twin #1) Wed, May 22 4 p.m.
Sat, May 11 K&N Pro West Tucson Speedway (Twin #2) Wed, May 22 7 p.m.
Sat, May 18 Whelen Modified Wall Stadium Speedway Thu, May 23 7 p.m.
Sat, Jun 01 K&N Pro East Memphis International Raceway Wed, Jun 05 6 p.m.
Sat, Jun 01 Whelen Modified Seekonk Speedway Wed, Jun 05 7 p.m.
Sat, Jun 08 K&N Pro West Colorado National Speedway Thu, Jun 13 6 p.m.
Sat, Jun 15 K&N Pro East Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park Thu, Jun 20 6 p.m.
Sat, Jun 22 K&N Pro West Sonoma Raceway Thu, Jun 27 6 p.m.
Sat, Jun 29 K&N Pro West Douglas County Speedway Thu, Jul 04 6 p.m.
Fri, Jul 19 Whelen Modified New Hampshire Motor Speedway (All-Star) Thu, Jul 25 6 p.m.
Sat, Jul 20 K&N Pro East New Hampshire Motor Speedway Mon, Jul 29 6 p.m.
Sat, Jul 20 Whelen Modified New Hampshire Motor Speedway Wed, Jul 31 6 p.m.
Fri, Jul 26 K&N Pro East/West Iowa Speedway Wed, Jul 31 7 p.m.
Fri, Aug 02 K&N Pro East Watkins Glen International Wed, Aug 07 6 p.m.
Wed, Aug 14 Whelen Modified Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park Wed, Aug 21 6 p.m.
Thu, Aug 15 K&N Pro East Bristol Motor Speedway Wed, Aug 21 7 p.m.
Sat, Aug 17 K&N Pro West Evergreen Speedway Thu, Aug 22 6 p.m.
Sat, Aug 24 K&N Pro East/West Gateway Motorsports Park Thu, Aug 29 6 p.m.
Sat, Aug 31 Whelen Modified Oswego Speedway Thu, Sep 05 6 p.m.
Sat, Sep 07 Whelen Modified Riverhead Raceway Wed, Sep 11 6 p.m.
Sat, Sep 21 K&N Pro East New Hampshire Motor Speedway Wed, Sep 25 6 p.m.
Sat, Sep 21 Whelen Modified New Hampshire Motor Speedway Thu, Sep 26 6 p.m.
Sat, Sep 28 K&N Pro West Meridian Speedway Fri, Oct 04 6 p.m.
Sun, Sep 29 Whelen Modified Stafford Motor Speedway Fri, Oct 04 7 p.m.
Fri, Oct 04 K&N Pro East Dover International Speedway Fri, Oct 11 6 p.m.
Sat, Oct 12 K&N Pro West All American Speedway Thu, Oct 17 6 p.m.
Sun, Oct 13 Whelen Modified Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park Thu, Oct 17 7 p.m.
Sat, Oct 26 K&N Pro West Kern County Raceway Park Thu, Oct 31 6 p.m.
Sat, Nov 09 K&N Pro West ISM Raceway Thu, Nov 14 6 p.m.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

David Gilliland, Ty Gibbs to appeal heavy penalties for violating testing rules

Getty Images
7 Comments

Defending K&N Pro Series East championship team DGR Crosley will appeal Wednesday’s L6 penalty assessed by NASCAR for violating the preseason testing policy.

A NASCAR spokesperson confirmed to NBC Sports that the team used the NASCAR-approved spec engine in the test. The use of the engine violated the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East Series testing policy, which specifically prohibits testing at a sanctioned track on the 2019 K&N Pro Series East schedule.

Car owner David Gilliland and driver Ty Gibbs, the 16-year-old grandson of NASCAR Cup team owner Joe Gibbs, were each suspended three races for the team’s private test at New Smyrna Speedway. Car chief Chad Walters was suspended indefinitely.

Gilliland is also docked 100 owner points. Gibbs has been docked 100 driver points.Gilliland, Gibbs and Walters have each been fined $5,000 apiece. The L6 penalty is the most severe in K&N Pro Series.

No date for the team’s appeal has been set. If the appeal is not heard before the Feb. 10 K&N Pro Series East opener at New Smyrna Speedway, all three would be allowed to compete.

Here’s what the violations are, per the NASCAR rule book:

* Section 12‐5.3.7: Violations resulting in L6 Penalties, in general, represent the expressly forbidden areas of unauthorized activity such as violation of the NASCAR Testing Policy.

* Section 12‐ 5.3.7.1.5 Violation of the NASCAR Testing Policy Conducting a private test with a NASCAR K&N Pro Series vehicle at a sanctioned track on the 2019 K&N Pro Series East Schedule (such as New Smyrna Speedway). Private race vehicle testing by any NASCAR K&N Pro Series race team, employee, contractor, affiliate, associated, subsidiary or surrogate at any facility that appears on the Series Schedule or that has been granted a Touring Series sanction will be prohibited regardless of “rookie” or “veteran” status.

DGR Crosley issued a statement Wednesday, claiming it was taking part in a private ARCA test.

“This afternoon NASCAR made us aware of a penalty they are imposing for actions that occurred during an ARCA Racing Series test on January 14. We strongly believe that we did not violate any rules and will therefore appeal the penalty immediately. While the appeals process runs its course, we will move forward and keep our focus on the upcoming season.”

However, the ARCA Series will not hold any sanctioned races at New Smyrna Speedway in 2019.

ARCA also issued a statement on the penalty:

“ARCA does not have any private testing limits at sanctioned or non-sanctioned tracks, other than a clearly defined moratorium on each event entry blank that generally covers the week leading up to an ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards event. Teams who would like to schedule a private test at one of the 18 tracks on the ARCA schedule do not have to notify us in advance of doing so, it is an agreement between them and the individual track.

“The only time we would get involved would be if a team tested during that moratorium period that is defined on each entry blank. DGR-Crosley Racing is not under any ARCA penalties because they did not break any ARCA rules.”

DGR Crosley won the K&N East series championship last season with driver Tyler Ankrum.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

What a finish! Check out how the K&N Pro Series East opener ended (Video)

Photo: Scott Hunter/NASCAR
Leave a comment

Todd Gilliland passed Harrison Burton on the final lap to win the NASCAR K&N Pro  Series East opener Sunday night at New Smyrna Speedway.

The 17-year-olds dueled the final two laps with Burton taking the lead before taking the white flag. Gilliland applied pressure and got back by him to win. Cole Rouse nipped Burton for second. The New Smyrna 175 will air at 6 p.m. ET on Feb. 27 on NBCSN.

Gilliland will compete for rookie of the year honors in the Camping World Truck Series for Kyle Busch Motorsports this season. Burton will be at teammate at KBM and is scheduled to run nine Truck races this season.

Watch the final two laps of Sunday night’s race:

Harrison Burton’s 2018 racing schedule includes Trucks, K&N and more

Photo by Sarah Crabill/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Harrison Burton will run nine Camping World Truck races along with partial schedules in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and ARCA Racing Series in 2018.

Burton, who will compete for Kyle Busch Motorsports in the Truck Series, is limited in what Truck races he can run because he doesn’t turn 18 until Oct. 9. NASCAR restricts drivers under 18 years old to tracks 1.25 miles or less in length or road courses.

Burton is scheduled to compete in Truck races at Martinsville (March 24 and Oct. 27), Dover (May 4), Iowa (June 16), Bristol (Aug. 15), Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (Aug. 26), Texas (Nov. 2), Phoenix’s ISM Raceway (Nov. 9) and Homestead (Nov. 16)

MORE: Harrison Burton rocketing to success

Burton, the reigning K&N Pro Series East champion, will fill out his remaining schedule this year with K&N and ARCA races for MDM Motorsports and also plans to run various super late model races.

“Just one year ago, I couldn’t believe the tremendous opportunities I had been given with Kyle Busch Motorsports and MDM Motorsports, as well unbelievable corporate partners who stepped up to the plate to support a young driver,” said Burton, son of NASCAR on NBC analyst Jeff Burton. “We all clicked so quickly that it was hard to believe it was our first year together. I can’t wait to see how a little experience and familiarity with each other pays off in 2018, and I couldn’t be more proud to represent DEX Imaging, Toyota, Morton Buildings, Hunt Brothers Pizza, RUUD, and Sports Force Parks.”

“DEX Imaging couldn’t have been more proud of Harrison Burton last season, not only in becoming a NASCAR champion but because of what an upstanding young man he is,” said Dan Doyle, DEX Imaging CEO, in a statement.  “He represented our company and the future of NASCAR well, and we are thrilled to extend our partnership with him in 2018.”

Burton, a member of the NASCAR Next class, finished seventh in points in 2016 in K&N Pro Series East before winning the championship last year and five series races. In the Truck Series, he posted a career-best fourth at Martinsville in October.

 and on Facebook