Getty Images

Practice holds for Charlotte Motor Speedway

Leave a comment

CONCORD, North Carolina — Ten Cup teams will serve practice holds today at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The teams of Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Matt DiBenedetto, AJ Allmendinger and Kasey Kahne will sit out 15 minutes of the first practice for failing pre-race inspection twice at Kansas Speedway.

Austin Dillon, Kevin Harvick, Daniel Suarez, David Ragan and Jimmie Johnson will sit out 15 minutes in the first practice for failing inspection twice last week at the All-Star Race.

Ross Chastain will sit out 15 minutes for missing the rookie meeting.

In the Xfinity Series, 10 teams will also receive practice holds stemming from the series May 5 race at Dover.

Chastain, Chad Finchum, Josh Bilicki and Brandon Hightower will have 15 minute holds for getting out of the garage late.

Michael Annett, Tyler Reddick, Christopher Bell, Cole Custer, Joe Nemechek and David Starr will have 15 minute holds for failing inspection two times.

Thursday schedule at Charlotte Motor Speedway

Getty Images
Leave a comment

NASCAR’s two-week visit to Charlotte Motor Speedway continues today.

Both Cup and Xfinity teams will practice for their respective races this weekend and Cup will hold qualifying for the Coca-Cola 600.

Here’s the full schedule for today with TV and Radio info.


11:30 a.m. – 9 p.m. — Cup garage open

1 – 9 p.m. — Xfinity garage open

2:35 – 3:25 p.m. — Cup practice (Fox Sports 1)

4:05 – 4:55 p.m. — Xfinity practice (FS1)

6:05 – 6:50 p.m. — Final Xfinity practice (FS1)

7:15 p.m. — Cup qualifying; multi-vehicle/three rounds (FS1, Performance Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)

9 p.m. — ARCA General Tire 150; 100 laps/150 miles (FS1)

Entry lists for NASCAR’s All-Star weekend at Charlotte Motor Speedway

Getty Images
Leave a comment

NASCAR’s All-Star Weekend at Charlotte Motor Speedway nears this weekend with the Monster Energy All-Star Race and a Camping World Truck Series race.

The field for the All-Star Race is made up of race winners in 2017 and 2018, former All-Star Race winners who are competing full-time and Cup champions who are competing full-time.

The drivers currently set to compete in the All-Star Race are: Ryan Blaney, Clint Bowyer, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Austin Dillon, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Martin Truex Jr.

Kyle Busch is the defending winner of the race.

The All-Star Race is preceded by the 50-lap Monster Energy Open.

The Open is broken up into three stages of 20 laps, 20 laps and a 10-lap sprint. The winner of each stage will advance to the main event.

A fan vote will advance a fourth driver.

There are 21 entries for the Open.

Click here for the entry list.

Truck Series – North Carolina Education Lottery 200

There are 36 entries for the race.

Kyle Busch will make his third start of the season. He will drive the No. 51 Toyota.

Brandon Jones is entered in Kyle Busch Motorsports’ No. 46 Toyota.

Todd Gilliland, driving KBM’s No. 4 Toyota, makes his third start of the year. He turns 18 on Tuesday, allowing him to compete on all NASCAR tracks.

Last year this race was won by Busch. He won over Johnny Sauter and Christopher Bell.

Click here for the entry list.

Kevin Harvick wins pole for GEICO 500 at Talladega

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kevin Harvick will start first in Sunday’s GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway after winning his first pole of the year.

Harvick earned the pole with a speed of 194.448 mph. It is Harvick’s third pole at a restrictor-plate track and his first since 2005 (Talladega). It’s Stewart-Haas Racing’s first pole at Talladega.

Harvick has now won at least one pole in each of the last six years.

The top five is completed by Kurt Busch (194.082 mph), Martin Truex Jr. (193.525), Denny Hamlin (192.936) and Chase Elliott (192.754).

Elliott has started in the top 10 in all five of his Talladega starts

Paul Menard qualified 13th and was followed by Daniel Suarez, Darrell Wallace Jr., Jimmie Johnson and William Byron.

Kyle Busch, who is trying to win his fourth consecutive race, qualified 19th.

Timothy Peters will start 32nd in his Cup debut.

Aric Almirola will start last after his N0. 10 Ford spun following the conclusion of a very slow qualifying attempt in Round 1. It isn’t clear what caused Almirola’s issues.

Click here for qualifying results.

Kyle Busch wins pole for Food City 500; Kurt Busch qualifies second

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kyle Busch qualified first for the Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway while brother Kurt Busch qualified second.

With a speed of 128.822 mph, Kyle Busch earned his second pole of the year (Atlanta) and his second at the half-mile track.

Kurt Busch qualified with a speed of 128.804 mph.

Kyle Busch has six Bristol wins, Kurt Busch has five. They are the active leaders in wins at Bristol.

It is the third time the brothers have started on the front row together. Kyle Busch has started first every time.

“He always told people, ‘If you think I’m good wait for my younger brother,’ I’m glad I’m living up to it,” Kyle Busch told Fox Sports 1. “It’s nice to come out here and grab a front row starting spot, but I’ve got to be careful and mindful. I’ve got to make sure I’ve got a good race car, because every time I’ve started up front I have not finished up front and every time I’ve started in the back, I finish up front. We’re trying to change things this time around this weekend.”

Kurt Busch will start on the front row for the second race in a row after being on the pole last weekend at Texas.

“I missed it a little bit in Turn 1, I got greedy and I drove in there too hard and it washed up just a smidge,” he told FS1. “I can’t believe it was two thousandths (of a second), it felt like an eternity. If at least you’re going to lose on Bush’s Beans Pole Day for a Busch (Beer) pole, you want to lose to a Busch.”

Completing the starting top five for Sunday’s race are Brad Keselowski, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Ryan Blaney.

Keselowski and Stenhouse’s results are their best of the season.

Michael McDowell qualified ninth.

Kasey Kahne qualified 15th for his best starting spot since Atlanta (14th).

Jimmie Johnson will start 17th and AJ Allmendinger qualified 18th after his team elected to repair its primary car following an incident in practice.

Denny Hamlin (25th), Martin Truex Jr. (26th), Ryan Newman (30th) and Jamie McMurray (31st) were among those who did not advance out of the first round.

Teams played a game of wait and see in every round. In Round 1, only five cars had made an attempt when the clock had five minutes remaining. In the second round (10 minutes long), no one made an attempt in the first seven minutes. Kyle Larson was the first to make an attempt. Only three cars had made an attempt with two minutes left in the round.

In the final round (five minutes long), Ryan Blaney was the first to start an attempt with 90 seconds left.

Kevin Harvick did not make a qualifying run after he went to a backup car following a practice crash. Going to a backup car results in starting from the rear.

Click here for qualifying results.