Mike Hillman Sr.

Penalty report from ISM Raceway

Leave a comment

NASCAR has fined five crew chiefs for unsecured lug nuts on their cars after last weekend’s playoff races at ISM Raceway.

Each fine was for having a single unsecured lug nut.

In the Cup Series:

Paul Wolfe, crew chief on Brad Keselowski‘s No. 2 Ford, and Mike Hillman Sr., crew chief on J.J. Yeley‘s No. 53 Chevrolet, were each fined $10,000.

In the Xfinity Series:

Taylor Moyer, crew chief on Zane Smith‘s No. 8 Chevrolet, was fined $5,000.

In the Truck Series:

Joe Shear, Jr., crew chief on Johnny Suater’s No. 13 Chevrolet, and Trip Bruce lll, crew chief on race winner Stewart Friesen‘s No. 52 Chevrolet, were fined $2,500.

Michael Annett gets new crew chief

Photo by Jonathan Moore/Getty Images
1 Comment

HScott Motorsports announced that Mike Hillman Sr. will become Michael Annett‘s crew chief.

Hillman replaces Jay Guy, who has been promoted to technical director and will report to Steve Addington, the team’s competition director.

“We are making these moves today in order to strengthen our management team and develop better lines of communications to improve performance,” said owner, Harry Scott, Jr. in a statement from the team. “Jay Guy’s promotion adds a layer of management we need between the two teams to better coordinate and communicate. Mike Hillman, Sr. brings more than 25 years of experience to the No. 46.”

Guy has been with HScott Motorsports since 2015. Hillman started Hillman Racing in 2012, which competed in the Sprint Cup Series through the start of this season.

Annett is 37th in the points, the lowest of all drivers who have started every race this year. Teammate Clint Bowyer is 26th in the points.