Marvin Panch

Getty Images

NASCAR Hall of Fame fan vote underway

Leave a comment

Fan voting for the 2020 NASCAR Hall of Fame class has begun.

Fans can vote online and the five nominees receiving the highest percentage of votes will comprise the Fan Vote ballot.

The fan vote ends on May 20 at 11:59 a.m. ET. The class will be formally voted on and announced at the Hall of Fame on May 22.

Here are the 20 nominees for the 2020 class:

Sam Ard, NASCAR Xfinity Series pioneer and two-time champion

Buddy Baker, won 19 times in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500

Neil Bonnett, won 18 times in the NASCAR Cup Series, including consecutive Coca-Cola 600 victories

Red Farmer, three-time Late Model Sportsman champion; 1956 Modified champion

Ray Fox, legendary engine builder, crew chief and car owner

Harry Gant, winner of 18 NASCAR Cup Series races, including two Southern 500 victories

Joe Gibbs, combined for nine car owner championships in Cup and XFINITY series

John Holman, won two NASCAR Cup Series championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing

Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR Cup Series championship crew chief

Bobby Labonte, won a championship in both the Cup Series and XFINITY Series

Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR west series champion

Ralph Moody, won two NASCAR Cup Series championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing

Marvin Panch, won 17 times in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1961 Daytona 500

Jim Paschal, 23 of his 25 NASCAR Cup Series wins came on short tracks

Larry Phillips, first five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion

Ricky Rudd, won 23 times in NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400

Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships

Tony Stewart, three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion, two-time Brickyard 400 winner

Red Vogt, the first master mechanic of NASCAR, and a founding member

Waddell Wilson, won three NASCAR Cup Series championships as an engine builder

Click here to vote on the Hall of Fame class.

NASCAR takes to social media to remember Marvin Panch

Leave a comment


The world of NASCAR is mourning the passing of another legendary name in the history of the sport.

Marvin Panch, who won the 1961 Daytona 500 and won a total of 17 Grand National races in his career, passed away Thursday of natural causes.

Click here for the story of Panch’s passing.

The NASCAR world took to social media to remember Panch:







Follow @JerryBonkowski

Legendary NASCAR driver Marvin Panch dies at 89

Getty Images
1 Comment

Marvin Panch never ran a full season in NASCAR and a 15-year career resulted in only 216 starts during an era when 40 or 50 races per season was the norm.

But he made the most of his opportunities and won 17 times, scored 96 top-fives, and 126 top-10s.

Sadly, Panch passed away Thursday at the age of 89. Click here to read the story of Panch’s passing by Godwin Kelly of the Daytona Beach News Journal.

NASCAR picked Panch up in California during their Western swing in 1951 and he swept the top 10 in his first two starts. Panch finished sixth at Oakland Stadium and came within one position of winning his second start at Marchbanks Speedway in Hanford, California.

Measuring 1.4 miles in length that was one of NASCAR’s biggest stages at the time, and Panch knew he had the ability to head East and compete with the superstars.

The Wood Brothers and Petty Enterprises agreed and more than half of his wins came with those two organizations.

Panch was named by NASCAR as one of their 50 Greatest Drivers in 1998 as part of the series’ 50th-anniversay celebration.

While Panch did not put up the lofty numbers of many of his current competitors, he won on some of NASCAR’s biggest stages. Perhaps his most notable victory came in 1961 in the third annual Daytona 500, driving Smokey Yunick’s year-old Number 20 Pontiac.

Panch inherited the lead that afternoon from Fireball Roberts when Roberts’ newer model Pontiac blew an engine 13 laps from the end of the race.

Panch’s last victory was no less memorable. He won the 1966 World 600 for Petty Enterprises.

Later that same season, Panch ended his career the way he started it with back-to-back top-10s in Darlington Raceway’s Southern 500 and Charlotte’s National 500.

Follow: @FantasyRace