Getty Images

Xfinity crew chief Chris Gabehart penalized $5,000 for loose lug nut at Indy

Leave a comment

NASCAR has issued one penalty resulting from last weekend’s races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Chris Gabehart, crew chief for the No. 20 Xfinity Series car of Joe Gibbs Racing, was fined $5,000 on Wednesday.

Gabehart was penalized for violating Sections 10.4 and 10.9 of the NASCAR Rule Book covering Tires and Wheels: Lug nut(s) not properly installed at the conclusion of the Lilly Diabetes 250.

There were no other penalties related to last weekend’s Xfinity or NASCAR Cup races in Indianapolis or the Camping World Truck Series race at Eldora Speedway.

Elliott Sadler wins Xfinity pole at Indy; JR Motorsports dominates top five

Leave a comment

Elliott Sadler won the pole for the Xfinity Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, claiming his first pole in three years.

Sadler and his No. 1 Chevrolet will start first in the Lilly Diabetes 250 after posting a top speed of 165.283 mph. It’s Sadler’s 17th career pole and his first since Auto Club Speedway in March 2014.

“It’s always great to get the pole here at Indy, and I wish I could tell you it was me,” Sadler told NBCSN. “My guys did such a really good job, we’ve had a fast car all weekend. … That shows true speed right there with the new rules package. (Crew chief) Kevin (Meendering) and the guys did a good job. We can go racing from there.”

Sadler, who has led the points standings for all but two weeks this season, is still looking for his first win of the season.

JR Motorsports put all four of its cars in the top five. The exception was Joe Gibbs Racing’s Erik Jones, who qualified second at 165.271 mph.

Completing the top five were William Byron (164.573), Justin Allgaier (164.402) and Michael Annett (164.258).

This is Annett’s first top five starting spot this year and just his second time starting in the top 10 (ninth, Michigan).

Ryan Sieg qualified eighth, his first time starting in the top 15 this season, but he will start from the rear after he and his crew chief missed the driver’s meeting.

Kyle Busch qualified 11th and Joey Logano 12th.

Click here for full qualifying results.

Today’s Xfinity race at Indianapolis: Start time, weather, TV/radio info

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Points leader Elliott Sadler continues his quest for his first Xfinity Series championship in today’s Lilly Diabetes 250 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Sadler has made five previous Xfinity starts at the historic Brickyard. His two best finishes there have come in the last two races – fifth in 2015 and sixth last year.

Sadler holds a 45-point edge over JR Motorsports teammate William Byron and a 90-point lead on teammate Justin Allgaier.

Here are the particulars for tonight’s Xfinity race:

(All times are Eastern)

START: The command to start engines will be given at 3:37 p.m. Green flag is set for 3:49 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 100 laps (250 miles) around the 2.5-mile speedway.


STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 30. Stage 2 ends on Lap 60.

PRERACE SCHEDULE: The Xfinity garage opens at 9 a.m. The driver/crew chief meeting is at 2:15 p.m. Driver introductions are at 3 p.m.

NATIONAL ANTHEM: Corey Cox will perform the Anthem at 3:31 p.m.

TV/RADIO: NBCSN will broadcast the race. Coverage begins at 3 p.m. with Countdown to Green. Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network will broadcast on radio and the Performance Racing Network at 3 p.m. SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the IMSRN/PRN broadcast.

FORECAST: The site predicts 90 degrees at race time with a 23 percent chance of rain at the start of the race.

LAST YEAR: Kyle Busch started from the pole and led 62 of the race’s 63 total laps. Kevin Harvick finished second, while Paul Menard was third. Busch also won the 2015 race.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for the starting lineup.

Justin Allgaier is fastest in second and final Xfinity practice at Indianapolis

Leave a comment

Justin Allgaier went from second-fastest in the first Xfinity Series practice Friday to fastest in the second and final practice later in the afternoon.

Allgaier covered the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway layout at 166.485 mph. Matt Tifft was second at 166.291 mph.

Just like he was in the first practice, Kyle Busch was third fastest at 166.162 mph, followed by first practice leader Elliott Sadler (165.883) and William Byron (165.874).

Teams are dealing with several changes for this weekend, including:

  • Taller rear spoiler and splitter package
  • Aero ducts on the lower front bumper area
  • 7/8-inch restrictor plate

Saturday’s Lilly Diabetes 250 begins at 3:30 p.m. ET and will be televised on NBCSN.

Click here for the full practice grid.

Elliott Sadler, Justin Allgaier fastest in first of 2 Xfinity practices at Indianapolis

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Elliott Sadler (166.420 mph) and JR Motorsports teammate Justin Allgaier (166.211 mph) were fastest in the first of two NASCAR Xfinity Series practices Friday afternoon at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Kyle Busch, who has won the last two Xfinity races at IMS, was third fastest at 165.810 mph, followed by Erik Jones (165.508) and Paul Menard (165.466).

Teams are dealing with several changes for this weekend, including:

  • Taller rear spoiler and splitter package
  • Aero ducts on the lower front bumper area
  • 7/8-inch restrictor plate

There is one more Xfinity practice session scheduled for today from 3 to 3:55 p.m. on the NBC Sports app in preparation for Saturday’s Lilly Diabetes 250 race.

Click here for the full first practice session speed chart.

Follow @JerryBonkowski