German Quiroga

(Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)

Germán Quiroga steps in for Matt Tifft, Red Horse Racing in Iowa Truck race

Leave a comment

An issue with a disc in Matt Tifft‘s back resulted in Sam Hornish Jr. replacing the driver in this weekend’s Xfinity Series race at Iowa Speedway.

Now Red Horse Racing has announced Germán Quiroga will drive its No. 11 truck in Tifft’s place in the Camping World Series race in Iowa.

The move comes after Quiroga started second and drove to an eighth-place finish for the team last Friday at Texas Motor Speedway in his first Truck race since 2014. The native of Mexico City raced for Red Horse Racing in 2013 and ’14 and was scheduled to drive the No. 11 Toyota again June 25 at Gateway Motorsports Park.

“I’m really excited to have the chance to race at Iowa this weekend,” Quiroga said in a press release. “It wasn’t originally in the plan, so I’m thankful to Tom DeLoach and Red Horse Racing for giving me this opportunity. I’ve been successful at Iowa in the past, so I’m confident that we’ll have a good Toyota Tundra and be able to pick up a good result.”

In three previous starts at Iowa, the 36-year-old driver has one pole (2014), one top five and two top 10s.

Quiroga will make the start without crew chief Scott Zipadelli, who was suspended for one race weekend for the No. 11 truck violating NASCAR’s lug nut rule at Texas. Zipadelli also was fined $5,000 and put on probation through the end of the calendar year.

Johnny Sauter wins first Truck pole since 2013

(Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images for Texas Motor Speedway)
1 Comment

FORT WORTH – With a speed of 180.024 mph around Texas Motor Speedway, Johnny Sauter clinched his first pole in the Camping World Truck Series since 2013.

Sauter, in his first season with GMS Racing, earned his sixth career pole and his third at Texas. He last pole came at this 1.5-mile trace.

Sauter is joined on the front row of the Rattlesnake 400 by German Quiroga, who is competing in his first Truck race since the 2014 finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. It is Quiroga’s best start since winning his lone pole in the series in 2013 at Iowa Speedway.

Filling out the top five is Daniel Hemric, two-time defending race winner Matt Crafton and Tyler Reddick.

Sauter’s pole is his first start from the front row since the season opener at Daytona, which Sauter won.

Qualifying results

qualifying results-page-001

Get to know Iowa Speedway


Much attention will be on Charlotte Motor Speedway this weekend where the Sprint Cup and Champing World Truck Series will race, but let’s not forget about what else is going on in the NASCAR world, as the Xfinity Series heads to Iowa Speedway for Sunday’s 3M 250.

It will be the 11th time the series has raced at the  track in Newton, Iowa, a town with a population of 15,136 located 30 miles from Des Moines and home to internationally famous Maytag Blue Cheese.

Iowa Speedway is off the beaten path from the Sprint Cup series, as it only hosts Xfinity and CWTS events.

Here’s a guide to getting know Iowa Speedway.

Rusty Wallace – The 1989 Sprint Cup champion was the lead designer of the track and was a co-owner before NASCAR bought the facility in November 2013. The track is located at 3333 Rusty Wallace Drive.

$50 million – The cost to build the speedway.

0.875-mile – The length of the oval track, which is paved with asphalt.

30,000 – The number of the speedway’s permanent grandstand seats.

2006 – The year the track opened, holding its first event on Sept. 15, as Woody Howard won the Hooters Pro Cup Series’ Soy Biodiesel 250.

2 – The number of Xfinity races at Iowa in the 2015 season.

Brad Keselowski – The 2012 Sprint Cup champion was the first winner of a NASCAR national series race at Iowa, winning the U.S. Cellular 250 on Aug. 1, 2009. Keselowski was a year away from his first full Sprint Cup season and was driving the No. 88 Chevrolet for JR Motorsports, owned by Dale Earnhardt Jr.

3 – How many times Brad Keselowski has won at Iowa Speedway.

.066 seconds: The closest finish at Iowa in an Xfinity race came in the 2011 U.S. Cellular 250. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. blew a tire coming to the finish and was rammed from behind by Roush Fenway Racing teammate Carl Edwards as he took the checkered flag.

Mike Skinner – The winner of the first CWTS race at Iowa Speedway, the Lucas Oil 200 on Sept. 9, 2009. It was the next to last of Skinner’s 28 career CWTS wins.

6 – Number of winners at the track in both Xfinity and CWTS (through eight races).

Brett Moffitt – The driver of Front Row Motorsports’ No. 34 Sprint Cup car was the first Iowa native to win at the track. Raised in Grimes, Moffitt won a K&N Pro Series East race in 2011.

Track records: Xfinity: Qualifying, Austin Dillon, 136.737 mph (23.037 sec.) on June 8, 2013.
Race: Elliott Sadler, 115.622 mph (1:53:31) on Aug. 4, 2012.

CWTS: Qualifying, German Quiroga, Jr., 138.620 mph (22.724 sec.) on
July 13, 2013
Race: Erik Jones, 110.429 mph (1:35:05) on July 11, 2014