Gander RV & Outdoors Series

Getty Images

Riley Herbst wins pole for Truck Series opener at Daytona

Leave a comment

Riley Herbst will start first in tonight’s Truck Series season opener at Daytona International Speedway.

Herbst, driving Kyle Busch Motorsports’ No. 51 Toyota, qualified on the pole with a top speed of 181.657 mph.

It is Herbst’s first career pole and comes in his eighth Truck Series start. He will compete full-time in the Xfinity Series this year with Joe Gibbs Racing.

The top five is completed by Brett Moffitt, Christian Eckes, Ross Chastain and Johnny Sauter.

Austin Hill, the defending winner of this race, qualified 15th. Matt Crafton, the defending series champion, will start 10th.

Drivers who failed to make the race: Norm Benning, John Hunter Nemechek, Jennifer Jo Cobb, Ray Ciccarelli, Clay Greenfield, Joe Nemechek and Todd Peck.

Tonight’s race is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET on FS1.

Click here for the starting lineup.

Kyle Busch unveils his five Truck races for 2020

Photo by David Allio/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

Kyle Busch has revealed the five Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series he’ll race this season.

Those races will be:

Feb. 21 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

March 14 at Atlanta Motor Speedway

March 20 at Homestead-Miami Speedway

March 27 at Texas Motor Speedway

May 30 at Kansas Speedway

Busch has 15 combined Truck wins at those five tracks. Busch won at Las Vegas, Atlanta and Texas last year.

Busch won all five Truck races he entered last year. NASCAR rules limit Busch, because of his Cup experience, to five Truck races a year. Dating back to 2018, Busch has won the last six Truck races he’s entered.