Danny Stockman

Kyle Busch Motorsports sets 2021 crew chief lineup

NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series Vankor 350
Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

Eric Phillips, Danny Stockman, and Mardy Lindley will serve as crew chiefs for Kyle Busch Motorsports’ three full-time teams in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series next season, the team announced Tuesday.

Phillips, whose 37 career wins make him the all-time winningest crew chief in Truck Series history, returns to KBM and will partner with John Hunter Nemechek and the No. 4 team.

During his first stint with KBM from 2010-2014, Phillips earned 27 victories and two Truck owner’s championships (2010, 2014).

Stockman, who guided Cup Series regular Austin Dillon to the 2011 Truck and 2013 Xfinity Series championships, will work with Chandler Smith and the No. 18 team.

He joined KBM this past season as crew chief for the No. 51 team, earning four wins – three with Kyle Busch and one with Xfinity regular Brandon Jones.

Replacing Stockman atop the No. 51 pit box will be Lindley. He’ll work with Busch and other drivers who will be named at a later date.

Lindley has earned four ARCA Menards Series East championships since 2013, including the 2019 and 2020 titles with Sam Mayer.

He also claimed five victories and the 2020 Sioux Chief Showdown title with Mayer on the ARCA Menards Series national tour.

Martinsville Truck starting lineup

Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Sheldon Creed will lead the Martinsville Truck starting lineup to the green flag Friday night.

Creed will be joined on the front row by Zane Smith. Austin Hill starts third and will be followed by Brett Moffitt and Matt Crafton.

Xfinity playoff driver Brandon Jones, seeking more experience at Martinsville, will start ninth in a truck for Kyle Busch Motorsports. Shop foreman Wes Ward will serve as Jones’ crew chief because Danny Stockman serves a suspension after a wheel fell off the No. 51 truck last weekend at Texas.

Click here for Truck starting lineup

The Martinsville race is the final chance for drivers to secure a spot in the championship race. Moffitt, who won the 2018 title, and Creed, who won last weekend at Texas, have secured spots in the title race. Two spots remain.

Hill and Smith hold the final two transfer spots. Hill is 27 points ahead of the cutline. Smith is 12 points ahead of the cutline.

Those outside a transfer spot are Crafton (-12), Grant Enfinger (-42), Ben Rhodes (-45) and Tyler Ankrum (-79).

The Martinsville Truck starting lineup is set by using a formula based on four statistical categories: owner points position, owner final race position, the finish and fastest lap from the most recently completed race.

Performance Metrics Qualifying is a total number based on the previous race. The formula is 15% of a fastest lap time position, 25% of the driver’s final race finish position, 25% of the owner’s final race position and 35% of the owner points position. Any ties will be broken by the rule book.

NASCAR Truck Series at Martinsville Speedway

Race time: 8 p.m. ET Friday

Track: Martinsville Speedway; Martinsville, Virginia (0.526-mile speedway)

Length: 200 laps (105.2 miles)

Stages: Stage 1 ends Lap 50. Stage 2 ends Lap 100.

TV coverage: FS1

Radio: Motor Racing Network (also SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)

Streaming: NBC Sports app (subscription required); mrn.com and SiriusXM for audio (subscription required)

Lineup: Click here for Truck starting lineup

Next Xfinity race: Saturday at Martinsville (250 laps, 131.5 miles), 3:30 p.m. ET on NBC

Next Cup race: Sunday at Martinsville (500 laps, 263 miles), 2 p.m. ET on NBC

Two truck crew chiefs fined for lug nut violations


NASCAR has fined two Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series crew chiefs $2,500 each for having a lug nut not secure and safe after last Saturday’s race at Kansas Speedway.

NASCAR fined Truck crew chiefs Kevin Bellicourt, crew chief for rookie Derek Kraus, and Danny Stockman, crew chief for Brandon Jones, for the lug nut violations.

MORE: Brad Daugherty joins NBC Sports NASCAR broadcast team 

MORE: What upcoming NASCAR Cup races fans can attend

Penalty report from Pocono Raceway


NASCAR has issued fines to five crew chiefs for unsecured lug nuts during the race weekend at Pocono Raceway.


NASCAR fined four crew chiefs $10,000 each for having one unsecured lug nut on their cars following the two Cup races.

Scott Graves (Ryan Newman‘s No. 6 Ford) and John Klausmeier (Clint Bowyer‘s No. 14 Ford) were fined for unsecured lug nuts after Saturday’s race.

James Small (Martin Truex Jr.‘s No. 19 Toyota) and Rodney Childers (Kevin Harvick‘s No. 4 Ford) were fined for unsecured lug nuts after Sunday’s race.

Truck Series

Danny Stockman, crew chief on Brandon Jones‘ No. 51 Chevrolet, was fined $2,500 for an unsecured lug nut after Saturday’s race. Jones was the race winner.

Penalty report from Charlotte


NASCAR on Friday issued its penalty report from the three races — one Cup, Xfinity and Truck series races — held following last Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway

Just one penalty was assessed: to Danny Stockman, crew chief of the No. 51 Toyota Tundra in the Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series driven by Kyle Busch, who finished second in the race to Chase Elliot.

Stockman has been fined $2,500 for violating Sections Tires and Wheels of the NASCAR Rule Book for “lug nut(s) not properly installed.”

There had been one previous penalty announced following the Coke 600 against the No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing NASCAR Cup team. Crew chief Chris Gabehart, car chief Brandon Griffeth and engineer Scott Simmons were each suspended for four races (starting with last night’s Cup race) through June 10 for a safety penalty. A chunk of tungsten ballast came off the car driven by Denny Hamlin on the parade lap prior to the start of the 600.

There were no other penalties announced by NASCAR.