Cup practice

Joey Logano, Martin Truex Jr. run 1-2 in opening Cup practice

Leave a comment

Joey Logano picked up where he left off a year ago at Martinsville Speedway, turning the fastest lap in the opening practice Saturday on the 0.526-mile oval.

The Team Penske driver turned a 96.657 mph lap that bested Martin Truex Jr. (96.176), whom Logano knocked out of the way on the last corner of the last lap and won to advance to the 2018 championship round.

Denny Hamlin, Clint Bowyer and Kyle Busch rounded out the top five.

Less than five minutes into the session, Chase Elliott suffered an engine failure that will relegate him to the rear of Sunday’s race.

Matt Crafton was 31st fastest in the No. 36 Front Row Motorsports Ford. Crafton was driving in place of Matt Tifft, who fell ill before the practice began.

There will be another Cup practice at noon ET before qualifying at 4:35 p.m. ET.

Click here for the speeds from Saturday morning’s session at Martinsville.

Daniel Hemric fastest in final practice; Kevin Harvick second

Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images
Leave a comment

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Daniel Hemric turned the fastest lap Friday in the final Cup practice at Kansas Speedway, turning a 177.830 mph lap in his No. 8 Chevrolet for Richard Childress Racing.

Kevin Harvick was second followed by Kurt Busch, Brad Keselowski (who paced the first practice) and Ryan Blaney.

Hemric has yet to announce a ride for 2020 after RCR announced last month that the rookie would be replaced by Tyler Reddick next season.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr., Daniel Suarez and Aric Almirola rounded out the top 10.

Here are the rankings speeds of the other playoff drivers: Denny Hamlin 12th; Alex Bowman 15th; Joey Logano 16th; Clint Bowyer 19th; Chase Elliott 20th; and William Byron 22nd.

Click here to see where things stand in the playoffs standings entering Sunday’s second-round cutoff race at Kansas.

Click here for speeds from the final practice at Kansas.

Click here for the speeds during the first Cup practice of the weekend at Kansas.

Brad Keselowski fastest in first practice at Kansas; Kyle Busch makes big save

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images
Leave a comment

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Brad Keselowski turned the fastest lap with a minute remaining in Friday afternoon’s first Cup practice at Kansas Speedway.

The 176.499-mph lap by the No. 2 Ford of Team Penske nipped a 176.389 mph lap by the No. 10 Ford of Aric Almirola.

Daniel Suarez was third, followed by Denny Hamlin and Ryan Blaney. Kurt Busch, Paul Menard, Austin Dillon, Kevin Harvick and Daniel Hemric rounded out the top 10.

Here’s how other playoff drivers fared during the practice:

Kyle Larson 11th; Joey Logano 13th; Clint Bowyer 15th; William Byron 20th; Alex Bowman 21st; Kyle Busch (who had an impressive save; video below) 22nd; Chase Elliott 23rd.

Click here to see where things stand in the playoffs standings entering Sunday’s second-round cutoff race at Kansas.

Click here for the speeds during the first Cup practice of the weekend at Kansas.

Daniel Hemric fastest in first Coca-Cola 600 practice

Getty Images
Leave a comment

CONCORD, N.C. — Daniel Hemric was fastest in the first Cup Series practice session for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600.

Hemric posted a top speed of 182.791 mph around Charlotte Motor Speedway.

He was followed by Chase Elliott (182.340 mph), William Byron (182.211), Kyle Busch (182.168) and Jimmie Johnson (182.008).

Alex Bowman was seventh to put all four Hendrick Motorsports cars in the top 10.

Austin Dillon in eighth gave Chevrolet six cars in the top 10.

Landon Cassill recorded the most laps in the session with 37. He was 32nd on the speed chart.

Click here for the speed chart.

Ryan Blaney fastest in opening Cup practice at Bristol Motor Speedway

Sean Gardner/Getty Images
Leave a comment

BRISTOL, Tenn. — Ryan Blaney paced the opening practice Friday morning for the Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway, turning a 129.614 mph lap on the 0.533-mile oval.

Joey Logano was second (128.882 mph), followed by Erik Jones (128.865), Kyle Larson (128.735) and Denny Hamlin (128.709).

Brad Keselowski, William Byron, Chase Elliott, Daniel Suarez and Clint Bowyer rounded out the top 10.

There were 13 drivers who cracked the 15-second barrier. Blaney was two 10ths of a second off the pole position record set by Denny Hamlin in March 2014.

Click here for practice report