camping world truck series

Camping World
Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Camping World Truck Series name returns in 2021

Leave a comment

The Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series will revert back to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in 2021, Marcus Lemonis, CEO of Camping World, announced Tuesday.

“The transition back to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series demonstrates the continued power of NASCAR’s brand-loyal fan base and creates a broader touchpoint with fans who are RV and Outdoor enthusiasts,” Lemonis said in a statement. “We leveraged the series to support the successful launch of our new brand in 2019, and look forward to celebrating the 2020 NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series Champion in November.

“The next generation of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series is right around the corner and we’re committed to the series that has delivered for our customers, fans and the entire Camping World family of brands.”

MORE: Sam Mayer to make Xfinity debut in 2021 with JR Motorsports 

The Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series playoffs are scheduled to begin Thursday at Bristol Motor Speedway.

In 2014, NASCAR announced that Camping World had signed a deal to be the entitlement sponsor of the Truck Series through the 2022 season. The company took over the Truck Series sponsorship in 2009 from Sears’ Craftsman tool brand.

Elliott Sadler wins Xfinity Most Popular Driver; Noah Gragson wins in Trucks

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Elliott Sadler has won the Xfinity Series Most Popular Driver Award, marking his third consecutive year as the recipient and fourth overall, NASCAR announced Wednesday.

Sadler, 43, ended his full-time NASCAR career this season after making 853 starts in all three of NASCAR’s national series since 1995.

Sadler’s achievement is the seventh straight year a JR Motorsports driver has won the award.

NASCAR also announced that Noah Gragson won Most Popular Driver in the Camping World Truck Series.

Gragson, who finished second in the championship standings, won the award in his second full-time season in Trucks driving for Kyle Busch Motorsports.

Gragson ended 2018 with one win, eight top fives, 17 top 10s and six poles.

The 20-year-old driver will race for JR Motorsports in the Xfinity Series in 2019.

Both Sadler and Gragson will be honored at the Xfinity and Truck Series awards banquet on Dec. 8.

 and on Facebook

Rick Crawford sentenced to 130 months in attempted enticement of a minor case

Photo: Seminole County Sheriffs Office
Leave a comment

Former Camping World Truck Series driver Rick Crawford has been sentenced to 130 months in prison after he was found guilty of attempted enticement of a minor to engage in sexual activity.

Crawford, 60, was found guilty in August in the Middle District of Florida. He faced a minimum mandatory penalty of 10 years, up to life, in federal prison. The sentence of 130 months is two months shy of 11 years.

Crawford was arrested Feb. 28 after he was a caught in a FBI undercover child sex sting in Florida. He was indicted March 30.

Crawford has been put in the custody of the U.S. Marshals Service.

Crawford will also have to pay a $5,000 fine with $100 due immediately.

The sentencing document also listed special conditions of supervised release and sex offender status:

  • Mandatory drug testing requirements are imposed.
  • Drug aftercare conditions imposed.
  • Mental health treatment conditions imposed.
  • Defendant shall cooperate in the collection of DNA.

Sex offender conditions:

  • Defendant shall participate in a mental health treatment program specialized for sex offenders.
  • Defendant shall have no direct contact with minor children
  • Media and computer restrictions imposed.
  • Defendant shall register with all sex offender registries as required by law.

Crawford spent 17 years in the Truck Series. He made 336 starts and earned five wins, 75 top five and 160 top 10 finishes. He last appeared in a race in fall 2012 at Talladega Superspeedway. He finished as high as second in the points in 2002.

NASCAR Truck practice report

Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images
Leave a comment

HOMESTEAD, Fla. – Title contender Justin Haley posted the fastest lap in Friday’s final Camping World Truck Series practice.

He had a lap of 167.141 mph. He was followed by title contender Noah Gragson (166.898 mph), Harrison Burton (165.945), Sheldon Creed (165.919) and Chris Windom (165. 700).  Title contender Brett Moffitt was 16th at 162.935 mph and title contender Johnny Sauter was 20th at 161.449 mph.

There were no incidents in the session.

Click here for final Truck practice report


Title contender Johnny Sauter was the fastest in Friday’s first Camping World Truck practice at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Sauter led the way with a lap of 170.465 mph. He was followed by Grant Enfinger (170.148 mph), title contender Brett Moffitt (167.426), Jesse Little (166.672) and Harrison Burton (166.538).

Title contender Justin Haley was sixth at 166.169 mph. Title contender Noah Gragson was 11th at 165.731.

Click here for Truck practice report


NASCAR’s Friday schedule in Miami

Getty Images
Leave a comment

NASCAR’s final race weekend of the year begins today at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

All three national series will be in action with the day capped off by Cup qualifying and the Camping World Truck Series finale.

Here is the day’s full schedule with TV and radio info:

(All times are Eastern)

7 a.m. – Truck Series garage opens

8:35 – 9:25 a.m. – Truck practice (No TV)

10 a.m. – 8 p.m. – Cup garage open

10:05 – 10:55 a.m. – Final Truck practice (No TV)

11 a.m. – 8 p.m. – Xfinity garage open

1 – 2:20 p.m. – Cup practice (NBCSN, Motor Racing Network)

2:35 – 3:25 p.m. – Xfinity practice (NBCSN)

3:45 p.m. – Truck Series qualifying; single truck/two rounds (Fox Sports 1)

5:05 – 5:55 p.m. – Final Xfinity practice (NBCSN)

6 p.m. – Truck Series driver-crew chief meeting

6:10 p.m. – Cup qualifying; multi-car/three rounds (NBCSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)

7:30 p.m. – Truck Series driver introductions

8 p.m. – Ford EcoBoost 200; 134 laps/201 miles (FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio)