Bono Manion

Getty Images

GMS Racing reveals full-time driver-crew chief lineup, number assignments

Leave a comment

GMS Racing has announced its full-time driver-crew chief lineup for the 2020 Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series season and number assignments for its trucks:

– Chad Norris has been named crew chief for Brett Moffitt and the No. 23 Chevrolet team. Moffitt drove the No. 24 in his first season with the team. Norris has been with GMS Racing for two years and directed the effort that delivered the team its 2018 Xfinity Series win at Talladega.

– Chad Walter will lead Tyler Ankrum and the No. 26 team. 2020 will be Ankrum’s first season with GMS Racing. Walter served as an engineer for Ankrum this season at DGR-Crosley. Walter has five wins and 42 top fives in 208 Xfinity Series starts as crew chief.

– Kevin “Bono” Manion is paired with Zane Smith on the No. 21 Chevrolet. 2020 will be Smith’s first full-time Trucks season after competing part-time for JR Motorsports in the Xfinity Series. Manion has 24 wins as crew chief across all three national series since 2003. He led Martin Truex Jr. to his two Xfinity Series titles.

– Jeff Stankiewicz will remain as the crew chief for the No. 2 team piloted by Sheldon Creed.

Kevin ‘Bono’ Manion team to make NASCAR K&N Pro Series debut in Iowa

Photo courtesy Kyle Busch Motorsports
1 Comment

Kevin Manion Motorsports, owned by former Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 winning crew chief Kevin Manion, will soon make its debut in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series.

The part-time racing organization will compete in its first K&N Pro Series event on July 28 at Iowa Speedway, the annual race that brings together racers and teams from both the K&N Pro Series East and West Series.

“I’m happy to finally join the ranks of the NASCAR K&N Pro Series,” Manion said in a media release. “It’s a tremendous series, and our goal is to build something beyond a one-off race. We want to create an environment that teaches and develops young talent who have goals of competing at racing’s highest levels.”

The team is based in Mooresville, North Carolina. Bono is a veteran NASCAR crew chief who has worked for several teams and drivers during his career including Ricky Craven, Tommy Baldwin Racing, Steve Park, Martin Truex Jr., Richard Petty Motorsports and currently with Kyle Busch Motorsports.

KMM’s No. 1 Menards-sponsored Toyota Camry will be driven by NASCAR Xfinity Series driver Ben Kennedy.

The great-grandson of NASCAR founder Bill France Jr., and grandson of Bill France Jr., Kennedy is a two-time race winner in the K&N Pro Series East, scoring victories at Five Flags Speedway and Bowman Gray Stadium in 2013.

Since forming over nine years ago, KMM has recorded nine wins and 10 poles in NASCAR’s Whelen Modified divisions and various regional Modified series.

Among drivers that have driven for KMM over the years include Ryan Newman, Kyle Larson and Ryan Preece. The team has scored wins at several tracks, including New Hampshire Motor Speedway and Bristol Motor Speedway.


Follow @JerryBonkowski

Veteran crew chief Kevin ‘Bono’ Manion joins Kyle Busch Motorsports

(Getty Images)
Leave a comment

Veteran NASCAR crew chief Kevin “Bono” Manion has joined Kyle Busch Motorsports.

The three-truck team announced Manion’s appointment Wednesday in a media release.

A veteran of 12 seasons in NASCAR, Manion will oversee the 2016 efforts of one of the three KBM Trucks that will see Daniel Suarez and Cody Coughlin split driving duties.

“With the addition of Bono — a guy who is a true racer and a proven winner at NASCAR’s highest level — as the leader of that group of guys, I’m confident that their performance level will be much improved this season,” team owner Kyle Busch said in a media release.

Manion has served as crew chief in the Sprint Cup Series for the likes of Martin Truex Jr., Jamie McMurray, Michael Annett and most recently Sam Hornish Jr. for the final 26 races of 2015.

Manion has won five races as a Sprint Cup crew chief, including the 2010 Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 with Jamie McMurray.

He also led Truex to consecutive Xfinity Series championships in 2004 and 2005, and racked up 13 Xfinity wins with Truex and two others with Dale Earnhardt Jr.

The other two KBM Truck teams will pair 2015 K&N Pro Series East champion William Byron and 2015 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion crew chief Rudy Fugle, as well as Christopher Bell and veteran crew chief Jerry Baxter.

Follow @JerryBonkowski