All Star Circuit of Champions

Getty Images

Kyle Larson has eventful night dirt racing

Leave a comment

After being disqualified in an Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car race Saturday night at the Dirt Oval at Route 66, Kyle Larson came back to win the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget Series “Summer Slash” feature.

In the All Star Circuit of Champions race, Larson started from the pole and led the first 13 laps. He was disqualified during a red flag break on Lap 14 for a work area violation when one of his crew members left the designated work area to speak with Larson under the caution. Aaron Reutzel went on to win the race.

In the USAC National Midget race, Larson set a track record in his first visit to the 3/8-mile dirt oval and started the feature sixth. He was contending for the lead by the first lap and took the lead on the third circuit. His lead grew until Lap 10 when JJ Yeley flipped down the frontstretch. He was uninjured.

Larson and Logan Seavey then dueled for the lead after the race resumed.

“I felt like I was running good laps,” Larson told  “Then, Logan threw a slider on me.  I guess I was running 90 percent.  I was like, ‘crap, I got to step it up,’ and that’s when I started making mistakes.”

Larson withstood the challenge and went on to win. Tyler Courtney was second. Tanner Carrick placed third.

The victory was the first this year for Larson and the 16th of his career in the National Midget Series.

Tony Stewart scores All-Star Circuit of Champions sprint car win

Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Tony Stewart started from the pole and led all 30 laps to win the final night of the Winter Nationals that featured the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All-Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1. It was Stewart’s first All-Star win at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Florida.

Stewart collected $5,000 for the victory. He also won his heat race and dash event.

The victory was Stewart’s fourth career All-Star feature triumph. Lucas Wolfe finished second and Paul McMahan was third.

“This definitely feels great,” Stewart said in victory lane, according to the All-Star Circuit of Champions website. “We have our friends from Sage Fruit and Rush Truck Centers watching so to get a win for those guys is really special. I felt like I let one get away the other night. I’m still not sure what I did wrong, but we let that one get away.”

Christopher Bell wins Ohio Sprint Speedweek race; Kyle Larson second

Leave a comment

Christopher Bell continued the NASCAR theme during Ohio Sprint Speedweek by winning Tuesday night’s Arctic Cat Circuit of Champions race at Sharon Speedway.

Kyle Larson, who had won two previous nights of Ohio Sprint Speedweek, finished second. Former Truck racer Rico Abreu placed fourth. Former Xfinity driver Cale Conley was 11th. Former Cup driver Dave Blaney finished 16th. Former Cup champion Tony Stewart placed 24th.

Ohio Sprint Speedweek continues tonight at Atomic Speedway.

 and on Facebook

Kyle Larson wins Ohio Sprint Speedweek race at Eldora

Leave a comment

A night after wrecking and heavily damaging his car, Kyle Larson came back to win round two of the Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek series Saturday night at Eldora Speedway.

Larson, competing in the first six rounds of the nine-round series with the Cup Series off this weekend, held off former NASCAR driver Dave Blaney late to win the A feature. Blaney fell to third on the last lap. Carson Macedo was second.

Rico Abreu finished 10th. Tony Stewart, who won the B feature, placed 16th. Kasey Kahne was 20th.

The victory is Larson’s first in the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions at Eldora. It is his seventh victory in the series.

“I made a mistake last night and it cost us a car,” Larson said, according to the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions report. “This really makes up for that. I’ve now won in every kind of car I have ever raced here at Eldora. That’s pretty cool considering I’ve only raced here like 10 times.”

Ohio Sprint Speedweek continues Sunday at Waynesfield Raceway Park.

 and on Facebook

Kyle Larson extends winning streak with another victory on dirt

Photo: All Star Circuit of Champions
Leave a comment

Kyle Larson keeps winning regardless of what he’s driving.

Larson won Tuesday night’s All Star Circuit of Champions Ohio Sprint Speedweek race at Sharon Speedway, a high-banked 3/8-mile dirt track in Hartford, Ohio.

The victory marks Larson’s fourth in the last eight days – and his third in the last three days. His streak started June 13 when he won a World of Outlaws race at Eagle (Nebraska) Raceway.

He followed that by winning Sunday’s NASCAR Cup race at Michigan International Speedway. He won Monday night’s All Star Circuit of Champions race at Wayne County Speedway, a 3/8-mile clay oval in Orrville, Ohio.

Former NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Rico Abreu was third. Former Cup driver Dave Blaney, an owner of Sharon Speedway and father of Ryan Blaney, finished 11th.