Ryan Truex

Getty Images

Brett Moffitt to compete for JR Motorsports at Talladega

Leave a comment

Brett Moffitt, the defending Gander Outdoors Truck Series champion, will drive JR Motorsports’ No. 8 Chevrolet in the April 27 Xfinity race at Talladega Superspeedway.

It will be Moffitt’s third career Xfinity start and his first since 2017. It is the only start Moffitt has scheduled with JRM.

Moffitt, who competes full-time in the Truck Series for GMS Racing, will be sponsored by ISM Connect.

Moffitt joins a roster of drivers scheduled to drive the No. 8 this year that includes Chase Elliott, Jeb Burton, Ryan Preece, Ryan Truex and Zane Smith.

Adam Stevens fined $10,000 for Phoenix penalty

Getty Images

Kyle Busch won Sunday’s TicketGuardian 500 NASCAR Cup race at Phoenix, but on Monday crew chief Adam Stevens was fined $10,000 by NASCAR for a safety violation found during post-race inspection.

Stevens was penalized for violating Sections of the NASCAR Rule Book regarding Tires and Wheels: lug nut(s) not properly installed.

That was the only penalty assessed on the Cup side.

There were two penalties – also for lug nut violations – assessed to Xfinity Series teams following Saturday’s iK9 Service Dog 200:

* Taylor Moore, crew chief of the No. 8 Chevrolet driven by runner-up Ryan Truex, was fined $5,000 for lug nut(s) violation.

* Timothy Goulet, crew chief of the No. 74 Chevrolet driven by Mike Harmon, was also fined $5,000 for lug nut(s) violation.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Phoenix winners and losers



Kyle Busch: Sweeps the weekend at ISM Raceway to climb to 199 career NASCAR victories.

Joe Gibbs Racing & Team Penske: They are the only organizations to win the last six Cup races, dating back to November’s playoff race at ISM Raceway.

Cup qualifying: It has been must-see viewing the past two weeks. The drafting and gamesmanship on pit road made qualifying fascinating at Las Vegas. The Daniel Suarez-Michael McDowell fight highlighted the session at ISM Raceway.

Ryan TruexFinished second to Kyle Busch in the Xfinity race. Truex is running a limited schedule with JR Motorsports.



Austin Dillon: Had to give up fifth place late to pit for fuel. He finished 21st and has finished no better than 16th this season.

Ryan Newman: Yes, he finished a season-best 12th despite two pit road penalties (speeding and a crew member behind the wall touching pit road) but imagine what he could have done without those issues?

Ryan Preece: Since his eighth-place finish in the Daytona 500, he has placed 35th, 25th and 34th.

Kyle Busch wins Xfinity race in Phoenix

Getty Images

Kyle Busch won Saturday’s Xfinity Series race at ISM Raceway in Phoenix, claiming his 11th victory on the 1-mile track.

Busch led 116 of 200 laps, including the final 67, to score his second win in a row after he won last weekend at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Joe Gibbs Racing has won all three races since the season-opener at Daytona.

Busch beat Ryan Truex, who made his first start of the year in JR Motorsports’ No. 8 Chevrolet. It is Truex’s fourth career Xfinity top five and matched his career-best result (Dover, 2012).

The top five was completed by Tyler Reddick, Cole Custer and Austin Cindric.

Christopher Bell, who started from the pole and led 68 laps, was eliminated in a crash with 70 laps to go. Both he and Justin Allgaier suffered damage after a catastrophic engine failure on Stephen Leicht‘s car, which they were running behind, put fluid down on the track.

It is Bell’s first DNF of the season and the second consecutive race he’s been in an incident.

“Christopher was certainly going to give me a run for my money today,” Busch told Fox Sports 1. “I hate that he got caught up in that mess. Obviously, it was going to be a really fun run to the end there.”

STAGE 1 WINNER: Austin Cindric

STAGE 2 WINNER: Christopher Bell

Click here for race results

Click here for driver points.

NOTABLE: Busch’s win gives him 198 wins across all three of NASCAR’s national series … Ryan Sieg continued his career-best start to the season with a 10th-place finish. He has three top 10s in the first four races … Noah Gragson finished 11th. He’s placed in the top 11 in all seven career Xfinity starts, tying the record held by Kurt Busch and Darrell Waltrip for most starts prior to finishing worse than 11th.

WHAT’S NEXT: Production Alliance Group 300 at Auto Club Speedway at 5 p.m. ET on March 16 on Fox Sports 1


Christopher Bell wins Xfinity pole in Phoenix

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Christopher Bell will start first in Saturday’s Xfinity Series race at ISM Raceway after he won the pole with a speed of 133.973 mph.

It is Bell’s seventh career pole and his first of 2019.

Bell, who won the playoff race at ISM Raceway last fall, will be joined on the front row by Tyler Reddick (133.973 mph).

“I don’t know if I really would have pictured that after yesterday’s practice sessions,” Bell told Fox Sports 1. “But the thing is really, really fast. It’s really comfortable to drive. The 2 car (Reddick) snuck up on us there a little bit closer than we wanted, but that’s alright.”

The top five is completed by Kyle Busch, Cole Custer and Michael Annett.

Ryan Truex, who is making his first start of the year in JR Motorsports’ No. 8 Chevy, will start ninth.

The green flag for the race is scheduled for 4:15 p.m. ET on FS1.

Click here for the starting lineup.