Several teams test Charlotte Roval

Leave a comment

Eighteen drivers are expected to test today on Charlotte’s road course, the first time many will run on the 2.28-mile, 17-turn course that will host a playoff race in September.

Scheduled to test are: Martin Truex Jr., Jimmie Johnson, Chase Elliott, Kevin Harvick, Clint Bowyer, Denny Hamlin, Daniel Suarez, Brad Keselowski, Paul Menard, Trevor Bayne, Jamie McMurray, Austin Dillon, Chris Buescher, Kasey Kahne, Michael McDowell, Gray Gaulding, Landon Cassill  and BJ McLeod.

The session goes from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and is open to the public.

NASCAR anticipates lap times of around 78 seconds. Lap times are expected to be about 80 seconds in race conditions. The Sept. 30 race will be 400 kilometers. 

Denny Hamlin will be making his first appearance on the course that incorporates most of the track’s oval, along with an infield section.

“It’s kind of quirky,” Hamlin said of the track Charlotte Motor Speedway is calling a roval. “It’s not your normal cup-of-tea road course. I’m going to try to survive first through the test. That will be the object … and then try to get competitive when we come back for the race.”

Brad Keselowski, who also has not been on the course yet, has a simple goal for the test.

“I’m going to try to go there and not wreck,” he said.

There will be a test July 17 for the other teams not at Tuesday’s session. 

 and on Facebook


Tonight’s Cup race at Daytona: Start time, lineup and more

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Five months after the start of its season, the Cup Series returns to Daytona International Speedway for tonight’s Cup Zero Sugar 400.

Here’s all the info you need ahead of the race, which will air on NBC.

(All times are Eastern)

START: Retired U.S. Army Col. Gregory Gadson will give the command to start engines at 7:31 p.m. The green flag is scheduled to wave at 7:44 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 160 laps (400 miles) around the 2.5-mile speedway.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 40. Stage 2 ends on Lap 80.

PRERACE SCHEDULE: Garage opens at 3:30 p.m. Driver/crew chief meeting is at 5:15 p.m. Driver introductions are at 6:50 p.m.

NATIONAL ANTHEM:The 82nd Airborne Division All-American Chorus perform the anthem at 7:21 p.m.

TV/RADIO: NBC will broadcast the race beginning at 7 p.m. Coverage begins at 5 p.m on NBCSN with NASCAR America, followed by Countdown to Green at 6:30 p.m. Motor Racing Network’s radio broadcast begins at 6 p.m. and also can be heard at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will have MRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: calls for a high of 79 degrees and a 30 percent chance of rain and storms at the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won this race last year Clint Bowyer and Paul Menard. Austin Dillon won the Daytona 500 in February over Bubba Wallace and Denny Hamlin

TO THE REAR: Daniel Suarez, Kasey Kahne, David Ragan and Landon Cassill will start from the rear for unapproved adjustments. Suarez qualified 32nd, Kahne in 28th, Ragan in 21st and Cassill in 37th.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for the starting lineup.

NASCAR America: Overlooked performances from Chicagoland

Leave a comment

Every week on NASCAR America, Parker Kligerman and Landon Cassill discuss overlooked performances from the previous Cup race.

Tuesday, they looked at how Bubba Wallace and Kasey Kahne did in the Overton’s 400 at Chicagoland Speedway. Wallace finished 23rd in the race, but Kligerman said this is notable after how poorly Wallace fared the previous week at Sonoma Raceway.

“They were terrible, I know because I actually out qualified Bubba Wallace and he ran behind me the whole time and I just knew he was struggling,” Kligerman said. “To go to a track he’s a little more comfortable at and get a solid top-25 finish, this is what you want to see out of this race team.”

Wallace and the No. 43 team head to Daytona this weekend where Wallace finished second in February’s Daytona 500. Since the 500, he was only one finish better than 16th (eighth at Texas).

“The expectations for this team have to be when they are on their best days they’re fighting for a top 15 and a top 20,” Kligerman said.Watch the above video for more on Kahne and his crew chief, Jon Leonard.

NASCAR America at 5 p.m. ET: Scan All, Pete Pistone

Leave a comment

Today’s episode of NASCAR America airs from 5-6 p.m. ET on NBCSN and continues to look at storylines from last weekend at Chicagoland Speedway.

Carolyn Manno hosts with Parker Kligerman from Stamford, Connecticut. Landon Cassill joins them from Burton’s Garage.

What to expect from today’s show:

  • Today’s edition of Scan All features the best sights and sounds from Sunday’s thrilling race at Chicagoland Speedway.
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. discusses his debut in the NASCAR on NBC booth in a sneak peek of this week’s Dale Jr. Download.
  • Chicago native Pete Pistone of Sirius XM NASCAR Radio joins the show to tell us what fans were saying about the race weekend.
  • Xfinity driver Brandon Jones calls in to discuss his first season at Joe Gibbs Racing, as well as his role in the Comcast NBCUniversal Salute to Service this weekend.
  • Kligerman puts on his professor’s cap to teach us the art of the slide job.
If can’t catch today’s show on TV, watch it online at http:/ If you plan to stream the show on your laptop or portable device, be sure to have your username and password from your cable/satellite/telco provider handy so your subscription can be verified.

Once you enter that information, you’ll have access to the stream.

Click here at 5 p.m. ET to watch live via the stream.

Updated entry lists for NASCAR at Daytona International Speedway

Getty Images
Leave a comment

NASCAR makes its second visit to Daytona International Speedway this weekend with the Cup and Xfinity Series.

Cup teams will hold the Coke Zero Sugar 400 on Saturday and the Xfinity Series precedes them Friday night.

Here are the preliminary entry lists for both races.

Cup – Coke Zero Sugar 400 (7 p.m. ET on Saturday on NBC)

There are 41 entries for the race. One car will not make the race.

Timothy Peters is entered in the No. 92 Ford owned by Ricky Benton Racing. It would be his second career Cup start.

Joey Gase is entered in StarCom Racing’s No. 00 Chevrolet. Landon Cassill is in the team’s No. 99 Chevrolet.

Brendan Gaughan is entered in Beard Motorsports’ No. 62 Chevrolet.

Ray Black Jr. is entered in Rick Ware Racing’s No. 51 Ford. It would be Black’s fourth career Cup start and his first this season.

JJ Yeley is listed in the No. 23 for BK Racing. Gray Gaulding had run every race for the team this season.

Last year Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won this race over Clint Bowyer and Paul Menard. In February, Austin Dillon won the Daytona 500 over Bubba Wallace and Denny Hamlin.

Click here for the entry list.

Xfinity – Coca-Cola Firecracker 250 (7:30 p.m. ET on Friday on NBCSN)

There are 41 cars entered for the race, meaning one team will not qualifying.

Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson are the only full-time Cup drivers entered.

Ryan Preece is entered in Joe Gibbs Racing’s No. 18 Toyota. Preece has not competed since his win at Bristol on April 14.

William Byron won this race last year over Elliott Sadler and Dakoda Armstrong. Tyler Reddick won at Daytona in February over Sadler in the closest finish in national NASCAR history.

Click here for the entry list.