Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images

Xfinity practice report from Mid-Ohio

Leave a comment

Ryan Reed was the fastest in opening Xfinity practice Friday at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Reed led the way with a lap of 94.709 mph. He was followed by Andy Lally (94.499 mph), Kyle Benjamin (94.371), Brendan Gaughan (94.295) and Austin Cindric (94.277).

Benjamin ran the most laps at 26. Kaz Grala was next with 25 laps. Grala was 19th on the speed chart with a top lap of 93.241 mph.

A few cars had issues.

Christopher Bell, who was 10th on the speed chart at 94.009 mph, spun off course but continued. Daniel Hemric, Dylan Murcott and Gaughan also slid off course but continued.

Click here for Xfinity practice report

Final Xfinity practice will run from 4:05 to 4:55 p.m. ET today and can be seen on the NBC Sports App and online. Rain is in the forecast there this afternoon.


Because of rain only five cars recorded a lap in the final session. Most teams did not go out since Saturday’s race is expected to be in dry conditions.

Brendan Gaughan had the fastest lap at 87.738 mph. He ran five laps in the session.

Click here for final practice report

Results, Xfinity points standings after Iowa Speedway

Leave a comment

Christopher Bell outdueled Justin Allgaier on the final restart Saturday at Iowa Speedway, capturing his third consecutive victory in the Xfinity Series.

Allgaier finished second, followed by Kyle Benjamin, Ross Chastain and John Hunter Nemecheck.

Click here for Xfinity race results at Iowa.


Bell also took the lead in the points standings by 16 points over JR Motorsports teammate Elliott Sadler. Cole Custer is ranked third, and Daniel Hemric slid from first to fourth in points with an 11th at Iowa.

Click here for the Xfinity Series points standings after Iowa.

Third consecutive victory in Xfinity for Christopher Bell

Leave a comment

Christopher Bell became the first full-time Xfinity Series driver in 19 years to win three consecutive Xfinity Series races, capturing Saturday’s U.S. Cellular 250 at Iowa Speedway.

MORE: Results, points standings

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver, who was coming off wins at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and Kentucky Speedway, has four wins on the circuit this season.

“When it’s your day, it’s your day,” Bell told NBCSN’s Parker Kligerman in victory lane. “I’ll take them any way I can get them.”

Bell won on the second overtime restart after losing the lead to Justin Allgaier. Restarting behind Allgaier and Brandon Jones, he passed both to lead the final two laps.

Allgaier finished second, followed by Kyle Benjamin, Ross Chastain and John Hunter Nemechek.

In an NBCSN interview with Kligerman, Allgaier wasn’t happy about Bell’s winning moves, saying he was “salty” because he had raced Bell clean all day.

Bell was cruising toward the win when the caution flew with 15 laps remaining for a spin by Chase Briscoe directly in front of the leader off Turn 4. Bell’s No. 20 Toyota made slight contact with Briscoe’s No. 60 Ford.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. was the last full-time Xfinity driver to win three straight on the circuit, triumphing at Dover, South Boston and Watkins Glen in June 1999.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Cole Custer


NEXT: 3 p.m. Aug. 4 at Watkins Glen International, NBC.

Elliott Sadler captures Xfinity pole position at Iowa

Matt Sullivan/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Veteran Elliott Sadler earned his first pole position of the season, besting Cole Custer and Christopher Bell in Xfinity Series qualifying Saturday at Iowa Speedway.

It’s the 18th career pole in Xfinity for the JR Motorsports driver and his first since a year ago at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

“We’ve been fast since we’ve unloaded,” Sadler told NBCSN’s Parker Kligerman. “Just proud of my guys. This is one of our playoff cars. We decided to bring it here to give us a good opportunity to win.”

Kyle Benjamin was fourth, and Tyler Reddick took fifth.

The Xfinity race will begin at 5:20 p.m. on NBCSN.

Click here for three rounds of Xfinity qualifying results.

Click here for the lineup in Saturday’s Xfinity race at Iowa Speedway.

Today’s Xfinity race at Iowa: Start time, lineup and more

Photo by Matt Sullivan/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Without any Cup regulars in the field, Ryan Preece won last year’s edition of the U.S. Cellular 250 over Kyle Benjamin. The Xfinity regulars have another opportunity to showcase their talent again this week with this standalone race.

Here’s all the info for today’s Xfinity race.

(All times are Eastern)

START: The command to start engines will be given at 5:27 p.m. The green flag is scheduled to wave at 5:34 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 250 laps (218.8 miles) around the .875-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 60. Stage 2 ends on Lap 120.

PRERACE SCHEDULE: Garage opens at 11 a.m. Qualifying is at 3:05 p.m. Driver/crew chief meeting is at 4:15 p.m. Driver introductions are at 4:55 p.m.

NATIONAL ANTHEM: Performed by Kaitlin Christensen of Martensdale, Iowa at 5:21 p.m.

TV/RADIO: NBCSN will broadcast the race beginning at 5:30 p.m. Coverage begins at 5 p.m. with Countdown to Green on NBCSN. Performance Racing Network’s radio broadcast begins at 5 p.m. and also can be heard at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will have PRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: calls for isolated thunderstorms with a high of 73 degrees and a 33 percent chance of rain at the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Ryan Preece beat a field of Xfinity regulars, including Kyle Benjamin by .054 seconds. In the most recent race at this track on June 17, Justin Allgaier beat Christopher Bell.

STARTING LINEUP: Check back for the starting lineup.