David Ragan

Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Grant Enfinger wins Richmond Truck race

Leave a comment

Grant Enfinger passed ThorSport Racing teammate Matt Crafton with seven laps left to win the Richmond Truck race Thursday night. The race was the first for the Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series at Richmond Raceway since 2005.

Enfinger overcame fender damage after contact with teammate Ben Rhodes to earn his third win of the season.

“Definitely a special night for us,” Enfinger said on FS1. ”

MORE: Race results 

Crafton finished second and was followed Rhodes, Brett Moffitt and Tyler Ankrum.

Thursday night’s race was the regular-season finale for the series and set the playoff field. Todd Gilliland and Ankrum secured the final two playoff spots.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Zane Smith

STAGE 2 WINNER: Ben Rhodes

WHO HAD A GOOD RACE: Codie Rohrbaugh finished sixth. It is his first top 10 season he placed third in the season opener at Daytona. … David Ragan finished seventh.

WHO HAD A BAD RACE: Johnny Sauter finished 27th, the third consecutive race he finished 27th or worse. He failed to make the playoffs. Stewart Friesen finished 10th but it was not good enough to make the playoffs.

PLAYOFF FIELD: Austin Hill, Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, Grant Enfinger, Brett Moffitt, Ben Rhodes, Matt Crafton, Christian Eckes, Todd Gilliland and Tyler Ankrum.

NOTABLE: Austin Hill wins the regular-season championship and the 15 playoff points that go with it.

NEXT: The Truck playoffs begin at 7:30 p.m. ET Sept. 17 at Bristol Motor Speedway on FS1.

NASCAR entry lists for Richmond

Leave a comment

NASCAR Cup, Xfinity and Truck teams will compete this week at Richmond Raceway. NASCAR released the entry lists for Richmond on Tuesday for each series.

This is the final doubleheader weekend of the season for the Xfinity Series. The Cup race is the middle event of the first round of the playoffs. The Truck playoff field will be set after Thursday night’s race.

Here are the preliminary entry lists for Richmond:

Cup – Federated Auto Parts 400 (7:30 p.m. ET Saturday on NBCSN)

Thirty-eight cars are entered for this playoff race.

Click here for Cup entry list


Xfinity – Go Bowling 250 (7 p.m. ET Friday on NBCSN)

Xfinity – Virginia is for Racing Lovers (2 p.m. ET Saturday on NBCSN)

Kyle Busch is among the 37 entries for Friday night’s Xfinity race. It will be his fifth and final start of the season. NASCAR rules limit Cup drivers to how many races they can compete in the Xfinity and Truck Series and what races they can run.

There are 36 cars entered for the Saturday race. The Saturday race will not have the No. 54 since Busch can’t compete.

Click here for entry list for Friday’s race

Click here for entry list for Saturday’s race


Trucks – ToyotaCare 250 (8 p.m. ET Thursday on FS1)

David Ragan and Trevor Bayne are among the 36 entries for this race. Ragan finished 22nd last weekend at Darlington, his first series start since 2006. Bayne finished 27th at Darlington in his first career Truck Series start.

Click here for Truck entry list

Ben Rhodes wins Truck race at Darlington

Photo by Chris Keane/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Ben Rhodes took the lead coming to the white flag in overtime and went on to win Sunday’s NASCAR Truck race at Darlington Raceway.

Rhodes snapped a 48-race winless streak.

“That was such a tough win,” Rhodes told FS1.

MORE: Race results 

Rookie Derek Kraus finished second and was followed by Austin Hill, Grant Enfinger and rookie Christian Eckes.

Sheldon Creed appeared on his way to a third victory in the last five races. That ended when he gave up the lead to pit before the overtime restart and then was penalized for speeding on pit road.

Greg Biffle, making his first series start since his win at Texas last year, finished 19th.

Trevor Bayne, who last raced in NASCAR in 2018, finished 27th in his first Truck series start.

David Ragan, making his first Truck series start since 2006, suffered damage in an incident. Matt Crafton made contact with Josh Reaume and Reaume’s truck hit Ragan’s truck. Ragan finished 22nd.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Brett Moffitt

STAGE 2 WINNER: Sheldon Creed

NEXT: The series races at 8 p.m. ET Thursday at Richmond Raceway on FS1.

Entry lists for Southern 500 weekend

Leave a comment

All three of NASCAR’s national series will be in action this weekend when the sport heads to Darlington Raceway.

This is the first time all three series have competed at Darlington in the same weekend since 2004.

More: Retro paint schemes for Darlington

Here are the preliminary Darlington entry lists:

Cup – Southern 500 (6 p.m. ET Sunday on NBC)

Thirty-nine cars are entered.

Josh Bilicki is entered in Tommy Baldwin Racing’s No. 7 Chevrolet.

James Davison is entered in Rick Ware Racing’s No. 53 Chevrolet.

Last year this race was won by Erik Jones over Kyle Larson and Kyle Busch.

Click here for the entry list.

Xfinity – Sport Clips Haircuts VFW 200 (12:30 p.m. ET Saturday on NBC)

Thirty-seven cars are entered.

Denny Hamlin is entered in Joe Gibbs Racing’s No. 54 Toyota for his first series start of the year.

No drivers are listed for SS Green Light Racing’s No. 07 Chevrolet or B.J. McLeod Motorsports’ No. 99 Chevrolet.

This race was won last year by Cole Custer over Tyler Reddick and Ryan Blaney.

Click here for the entry list.

Trucks – South Carolina Education Lottery 200 (2 p.m. ET Sunday on FS1)

Thirty-four trucks are entered.

Greg Biffle is entered in GMS Racing’s No. 24 Chevrolet for his first start since last year’s Truck Series race at Texas.

David Ragan is entered in DGR-Crosley’s No. 17 Ford. It’s his first NASCAR start of the year after the Daytona 500 and his first Truck Series start since 2006.

Trevor Bayne, the 2011 Daytona 500, is entered in Niece Motorsports’ No. 40 Chevrolet in his first NASCAR start since 2018 and his first career Truck Series start.

This is the Truck Series’ first race at Darlington since 2011.

Click here for the entry list.

Trevor Bayne set for NASCAR return in Darlington Truck race

Trevor Bayne
Niece Motorsports
Leave a comment

Greg Biffle and David Ragan aren’t the only former Roush Fenway Racing driver who will make his return to NASCAR this weekend at Darlington Raceway.

Niece Motorsports announced Monday that Trevor Bayne, the 2011 Daytona 500 champion, is entered in Sunday’s Truck Series race (2 p.m. ET on FS1).

More: Throwback paint schemes for Darlington

Trevor Bayne, who will drive the No. 40 Plan B Sales/Proceller8 Chevrolet, will make his first NASCAR start since 2018.

“After almost two years of being out of the seat, I’m so excited and grateful for another chance to go racing,” Bayne said in a press release.  “The call from Niece Motorsports to get back behind the wheel at Darlington was unexpected and came together really fast. They have a great group and a lot of potential with their program.  I’m looking forward to working with everyone there and going back racing this weekend!”

The race will be Bayne’s first career Truck Series start. He has 187 Cup starts and 152 Xfinity Series starts.