Sunday Kansas Cup race: Start time, weather, how to watch


The NASCAR Cup Series hits the halfway point of the 2022 regular season Sunday at Kansas Speedway.

Joey Logano’s win last week at Darlington via bump-and-run made him the 10th different victor in 12 races this season. It also tightened the Cup Playoff picture. Only six playoff spots remain.

Can Logano continue momentum Sunday? He is a three-time winner at Kansas, but consistent results there have been hard to come by. His average finish of 17.1 at Kansas is his worst among 1.5-mile tracks.

For more key storylines to follow Sunday, check out our Kansas viewer’s guide.

Details for Sunday’s Cup race at Kansas Speedway

(All times Eastern)

START: Mitch Lightfoot, team captain of the 2021-22 NCAA men’s basketball national champion Kansas Jayhawks, will give the command to start engines at 3:01 p.m. … Green flag is scheduled to wave at 3:12 p.m.

PRERACE: Cup garage opens at Noon … Driver introductions are at 2:24 p.m. … Pastor Adam Hamilton (United Methodist Church of the Resurrection – Leawood, Kansas) will give the invocation at 2:54 p.m. … Senior Airman Alexandria Crawford of Whiteman Air Force Base (Johnson County, Missouri) will perform the National Anthem at 2:55 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 267 laps (400.5 miles) on the 1.5-mile speedway.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 80. Stage 2 ends at Lap 165.

TV/RADIO: FS1 will broadcast the race at 3 p.m. Pre-race coverage begins at 1:30 p.m. … Motor Racing Network’s radio coverage begins at 2 p.m. and will also stream at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the MRN broadcast.


FORECAST: Weather Underground – Scattered storms, high of 72 degrees, 42% chance of rain at start of the race

TO THE REAR: Chris Buescher (backup car) and Joey Logano (backup car). Denny Hamlin, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Todd Gilliland for unapproved adjustments.

STARTING LINEUP: Kansas Cup starting lineup

LAST TIME: Eventual NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson won last October’s Cup playoff race at Kansas. The win completed Larson’s second three-race winning streak of the 2021 season. He became the first driver to have two three-race winning streaks in a season since Dale Earnhardt in 1987.


Joey Logano, William Byron still differ on Darlington finish

Friday 5: Will Darlington finish change how drivers race on big tracks?

Dr. Diandra: NASCAR Cup Series cautions on the rise

Drivers to watch in NASCAR Cup Series race at Kansas

Harrison Burton learning plenty in challenging rookie Cup season

NASCAR Power Rankings: Chase Elliott ascends to No. 1 after Darlington

“The most dangerous…22nd-place points team in the history of the sport”

Truck Series: Appeals panel overturns Matt Crafton’s Darlington DQ