Saturday’s Xfinity race at Talladega: Start time, forecast and more


The Xfinity Series continues its season Saturday with a visit to Talladega Superspeedway in Alabama.

It marks the second superspeedway race of the year for the series and the third Dash 4 Cash race.

Chase Briscoe, Brandon Jones, Ross Chastain and A.J. Allmendinger will compete for the $100,000 bonus.

Here’s all the info you need for tomorrow’s race.

(All times are Eastern)

START: The command to start engines will be at 5:35 p.m by actor Russell Crowe. The green flag is scheduled to wave at 5:46 p.m.

PRERACE: Garage access health screening begins at 9 a.m. (teams are assigned specific times). Engine prime and final adjustments are at 3:30 p.m.. Drivers report to their cars at 5:20 p.m. The invocation will be given at 5:27 p.m by Zana Free, an UAB Hospital Interfaith Spiritual Care Provider. The national anthem will be performed at 5:28 p.m. by the 313th United States Army Band out of Birmingham.

DISTANCE: The race is 113 laps (300.58 miles) around the 2.66-mile speedway.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 25. Stage 2 ends on Lap 50.

PACE LAPS: At the direction of race control, we will run the entire field down pit road during one of our pace laps for pit road speed verification. If you stop anywhere on pit road for any reason you will start at the rear of the field.


TO THE REAR: Jeb Burton and AJ Allmendinger (failed inspection three times, Mason Massey (unapproved adjustment), No. 47, Tim Viens (driver change after random draw)

TV/RADIO: FS1 will televise the race. Its coverage begins at 5:30 p.m. Motor Racing Network’s coverage will begin at 5 p.m. and also can be heard at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry MRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: The forecast calls for partly cloudy skies, a high of 86 degrees and a 0% chance of rain predicted at the start of the race.

LAST RACE: Chase Briscoe held off Brandon Jones in an overtime finish to win the second race in the weekend doubleheader.

LAST RACE AT TALLADEGA: Tyler Reddick held off a charge from Gray Gaulding to claim the win.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for Xfinity starting lineup