Starting lineups for Daytona 500 qualifying duels

Getty Images

The starting lineups for Thursday’s Daytona 500 qualifying races have been finalized through Sunday’s pole qualifying at Daytona International Speedway

The two 150-mile races will determine the lineup for the 500-lap main event next Sunday, which will feature 40 cars. Three cars will fail to make the race.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will start first in duel No. 1 and Alex Bowman will start first in duel No. 2 after they qualified on the front row for the 500.

Duel No. 1 will include 22 cars: Nine Chevrolets, eight Fords and five Toyotas.

Duel No. 2 will have 21 cars: 10 Chevrolets, nine Fords and just two Toyotas (Kyle Busch and Erik Jones)

Five “open” teams, or teams without charters, will be attempting to race their way into the 500.

That includes cars driven by Daniel Suarez, Reed Sorenson and Chad Finchum (Duel No. 1) and JJ Yeley and Timmy Hill (Duel No. 2).

The top finishing “open” cars in each race advance to the 500.