Clint Bowyer, Kurt Busch, Denny Hamlin fastest in first Texas Cup practice

Getty Images

Clint Bowyer was fastest in the first of two NASCAR Cup Series practices Friday afternoon at Texas Motor Speedway.

Bowyer clocked a speed of 188.679 mph. Kurt Busch was second-fastest (188.574 mph), followed by Denny Hamlin (188.324 mph), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (187.565 mph) and Erik Jones (187.559 mph).

As for other playoff drivers, Martin Truex Jr. (187.311 mph) was eighth-fastest, Kevin Harvick 10th (187.026), Kyle Busch 12th, (186.916), Kyle Larson 13th (186.767), Joey Logano 15th (186.477), Ryan Blaney 23rd (185.663) and Chase Elliott 26th (185.293).

The second and final Cup practice will be held later today from 5:05 – 5:55 p.m. ET.

Click here for the practice results.

Follow @JerryBonkowski