Erik Jones paces Cup field in Phoenix practice


AVONDALE, Ariz. – Erik Jones had the fastest lap in Friday’s lone Cup practice at ISM Raceway.

Jones led the way with a lap of 137.862  mph. He was followed by Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch (137.825 mph), Chase Elliott (137.815), Brad Keselowski (137.762) and Kyle Larson (137.673).

Other playoff drivers: Kevin Harvick was 10th with a lap of 137.200  mph, Kurt Busch was 11th at 137.164 mph, Aric Almirola was 12th with a lap of 137.096 mph, Joey Logano was 17th at 136.633 mph, Clint Bowyer was 19th at 136.545 mph and Martin Truex Jr. was 20th at 136.488 mph.

Ty Dillon ran the most laps at 17. No driver ran 10 consecutive laps in the session.

Cody Ware crashed in practice. He was uninjured.

Cup qualifying will take place at 7 p.m. ET today on NBCSN.

Click here for Cup practice report