Ryan Blaney tops field in Cup practice at Texas

Getty Images

FORT WORTH, Texas – Ryan Blaney posted the fastest lap in Friday’s lone Cup practice session at Texas Motor Speedway.

Blaney went 198.976 mph. He was followed by Kevin Harvick (198.456 mph), Kurt Busch (198.136), Denny Hamlin (198.136) and Aric Almirola (197.904).

Martinsville winner Joey Logano was sixth on the speed chart at 196.922 mph. Other playoff drivers: Clint Bowyer was seventh after a lap of 196.872 mph, Kyle Busch was 11th after a lap of 196.457 mph, Martin Truex Jr. was 17th after a lap of 195.737 mph and Chase Elliott was 18th after a lap of 195.716 mph.

There were no incidents in the session.

Cup qualifying will be at 7 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Click here for practice report