Cup Most Popular Driver voting now open

Getty Images

Voting for this year’s National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) Most Popular Driver Award presented by Hooters opened today at Noon ET.

The award will go to the most popular Cup driver, which will be a driver not named Earnhardt for the first time since Bill Elliott in 2002. Dale Earnhardt Jr. was the most popular driver from 2003 until his retirement following the 2017 season.

Fans can cast a vote for a single driver once a day at or on the NASCAR Mobile app. Votes shared by fans on Facebook or Twitter count double.

Voting closes at Noon on Tuesday, Nov. 27. The winner will be announced during the Cup Series Awards program Thursday, Nov. 29 at the Wynn Las Vegas. NBCSN, the Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will provide coverage of this year’s program.

Nineteen drivers have received the award at least once since the program began. Elliott, a NMPA Hall of Fame member and the 1988 Cup Series champion, holds the record for most popular driver award wins with 16 coming in 1984 to 1988, 1991 to 2000 and 2002.