Clint Bowyer’s journey to 10 Cup wins second longest in series history


If not for a well-timed bout of rain Sunday, Clint Bowyer might still be sitting at nine career Cup wins.

But Mother Nature did the No. 14 team a solid, and the race was made official after 133 of 200 laps with Bowyer leading teammate Kevin Harvick.

Bowyer’s 10th Cup win came in his 448th start and 13 years after his series debut (April 2005, ISM Raceway).

According to Racing Insights, that’s the second-longest route to 10 Cup wins in history.

It places Bowyer behind Sterling Marlin, who claimed his 10th – and final – Cup victory in his 544th start (Darlington, March 2002).

Marlin made his first Cup start on May 8, 1976 at Nashville Speedway in Nashville, Tennessee. His first win didn’t come until start No. 279 in the 1994 Daytona 500.

After three wins in 1995 and two in 1996, Marlin didn’t win again until 2001.

Bowyer’s 10th trip to Victory Lane was only nine races after his ninth, in April at Martinsville Speedway.

Before that he went 190 starts between wins.

Here’s a look at the five drivers who took the longest to get to 10 Cup wins.

Driver                Starts until win No. 10

Sterling Marlin        544
Clint Bowyer           448
Martin Truex Jr.      423
Buddy Baker           386
Ricky Rudd             335