Kyle Busch wins pole for Food City 500; Kurt Busch qualifies second

Getty Images

Kyle Busch qualified first for the Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway while brother Kurt Busch qualified second.

With a speed of 128.822 mph, Kyle Busch earned his second pole of the year (Atlanta) and his second at the half-mile track.

Kurt Busch qualified with a speed of 128.804 mph.

Kyle Busch has six Bristol wins, Kurt Busch has five. They are the active leaders in wins at Bristol.

It is the third time the brothers have started on the front row together. Kyle Busch has started first every time.

“He always told people, ‘If you think I’m good wait for my younger brother,’ I’m glad I’m living up to it,” Kyle Busch told Fox Sports 1. “It’s nice to come out here and grab a front row starting spot, but I’ve got to be careful and mindful. I’ve got to make sure I’ve got a good race car, because every time I’ve started up front I have not finished up front and every time I’ve started in the back, I finish up front. We’re trying to change things this time around this weekend.”

Kurt Busch will start on the front row for the second race in a row after being on the pole last weekend at Texas.

“I missed it a little bit in Turn 1, I got greedy and I drove in there too hard and it washed up just a smidge,” he told FS1. “I can’t believe it was two thousandths (of a second), it felt like an eternity. If at least you’re going to lose on Bush’s Beans Pole Day for a Busch (Beer) pole, you want to lose to a Busch.”

Completing the starting top five for Sunday’s race are Brad Keselowski, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Ryan Blaney.

Keselowski and Stenhouse’s results are their best of the season.

Michael McDowell qualified ninth.

Kasey Kahne qualified 15th for his best starting spot since Atlanta (14th).

Jimmie Johnson will start 17th and AJ Allmendinger qualified 18th after his team elected to repair its primary car following an incident in practice.

Denny Hamlin (25th), Martin Truex Jr. (26th), Ryan Newman (30th) and Jamie McMurray (31st) were among those who did not advance out of the first round.

Teams played a game of wait and see in every round. In Round 1, only five cars had made an attempt when the clock had five minutes remaining. In the second round (10 minutes long), no one made an attempt in the first seven minutes. Kyle Larson was the first to make an attempt. Only three cars had made an attempt with two minutes left in the round.

In the final round (five minutes long), Ryan Blaney was the first to start an attempt with 90 seconds left.

Kevin Harvick did not make a qualifying run after he went to a backup car following a practice crash. Going to a backup car results in starting from the rear.

Click here for qualifying results.



Portland Xfinity race results, driver points

Portland Xfinity results
Photo by James Gilbert/Getty Images

Cole Custer went from fourth to first on the overtime restart when the top three cars made contact and went on to win Saturday’s Xfinity Series race at Portland International Raceway. Custer is the 10th different winner in 13 races this season.

MORE: Portland Xfinity race results

MORE: Driver points after Portland Xfinity race

JR Motorsports took the next three spots: Justin Allgaier placed second, Sam Mayer was third and Josh Berry was fourth. Austin Hill completed the top five.

John Hunter Nemechek remains the points leader after 13 races. He has a 14-point lead on Hill. Nemechek leads Allgaier by 44 points.

Cole Custer wins Xfinity race at Portland in overtime


Cole Custer held off Justin Allgaier at the finish to win Saturday’s Xfinity Series race in overtime at Portland International Raceway. It is Custer’s first victory of the season.

JR Motorsports placed second, third and fourth with Allgaier, Sam Mayer and Josh Berry. Austin Hill finished fifth.

MORE: Race results, driver points

Custer went from fourth to first on the overtime restart when Parker Kligerman, who restarted third, attempted to pass Allgaier, who was leading. Sheldon Creed was on the outside of Allgaier. All three cars made contact entering Turn 1, allowing Custer to slip by. Creed finished seventh. Kligerman placed 14th.

Custer won the second stage when John Hunter Nemechek made contact with Creed’s car while racing for the lead on the final lap of the stage. The contact spun Creed and Custer inched by Nemechek at the line.

Early in the final stage, Creed gained revenge with contact that spun Nemechek, who went on to finish 10th. A few laps later, Nemechek and Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Sammy Smith had issues. Smith spun Nemechek. After getting back around, Nemechek quickly caught Smith and turned into Smith’s car, damaging it.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Sheldon Creed

STAGE 2 WINNER: Cole Custer

WHO HAD A GOOD RACE: Despite the contact on the overtime restart, runner-up Justin Allgaier managed to score his fourth consecutive top-three finish. … Sam Mayer’s third-place finish is his best on a road course. … Austin Hill’s fifth-place finish gives him four consecutive top-five results.

WHO HAD A BAD RACE: Daniel Hemric finished 33rd after a fire in his car. … Riley Herbst placed 32nd after an engine issue. After opening the season with six top 10s in a row, Herbst has gone seven races in a row without a top 10.

NEXT: The series competes June 10 at Sonoma Raceway (8 p.m. ET on FS1).

Truck race results at WWT Raceway: Grant Enfinger wins


Grant Enfinger took the lead when the leaders wrecked in the final laps and held off the field in overtime to win Saturday’s Craftsman Truck Series race at World Wide Technology Raceway.

It is Enfinger’s second win in the last five races. He also collected a $50,000 bonus for winning the Triple Truck Challenge.

MORE: Truck race results

MORE: Driver points after WWT Raceway

Christian Eckes finished second and was followed by Stewart Friesen, Carson Hocevar and Chase Purdy.

Ty Majeski and Zane Smith wrecked while racing for the lead with six laps to go. Majeski, running on the inside of Smith, slid up the track and clipped Smith’s truck. Both hit the wall. That put Enfinger in the lead.

Smith finished 20th. Majeski placed 30th.

STAGE 1 WINNER: Grant Enfinger

STAGE 2 WINNER: Stewart Friesen

WHO HAD A GOOD RACE: Grant Enfinger’s victory is his fourth top 10 in the last five races. … Carson Hocevar’s fourth-place finish is his fourth consecutive top-five result. … Stewart Friesen’s third-place finish moved him into a playoff spot with four races left in the regular season. … Matt DiBenedetto‘s sixth-place finish is his third consecutive top 10. … Jesse Love finished ninth in his series debut.

WHO HAD A BAD RACE: Ty Majeski had a chance to take the points lead with series leader Corey Heim out because of illness, but Majeski’s 30th-place finish after running at the front most of the day, leaves him behind Heim. … Hailie Deegan finished 32nd after contact sent her truck into the wall hard. … After finishing a career-high third last week at Charlotte, Dean Thompson placed 34th Saturday due to an engine issue.

NEXT: The series races June 23 at Nashville Superspeedway (8 p.m. ET on FS1)

Xfinity starting lineup at Portland: Sheldon Creed wins pole


Sheldon Creed scored his first career Xfinity Series pole by taking the top spot for Saturday’s race at Portland International Raceway.

Creed, making his 50th career series start, earned the pole with a lap of 95.694 mph on the 1.97-mile road course.

MORE: Portland Xfinity starting lineup

Cole Custer will start second with a lap of 95.398 mph. He is followed by Josh Berry (94.242 mph), John Hunter Nemechek (95.127) and Charlotte winner Justin Allgaier (94.897). Road racing specialist Jordan Taylor, driving for Kaulig Racing, qualified sixth at 94.772 mph.

The green flag is scheduled to wave 4:46 p.m. ET Saturday on FS1.