David Gilliland wins pole for Truck Series opener at Daytona

Getty Images

David Gilliland will start from the pole in tonight’s Camping World Truck Series season opener at Daytona International Speedway (7:30 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1).

Gilliland, who is driving the No. 4 truck owned by Kyle Busch Motorsports, claimed the pole with a speed of 183.610 mph.

Gilliland is in the truck as a result of his son, Todd, being too young to compete on restrictor-plate tracks.

“We all know with speedway racing you need to be there at the end,” Gilliland told Fox Sports 1. “It’s so fun to drive something like this. It’s been since 2007 when I came down here with Robert Yates that I’ve driven something this fast.”

Gilliland has three Cup Series poles, all of them at restrictor-plate tracks. He won the pole for the 2007 Daytona 500. His last Truck Series start was in 2015.

Johnny Sauter, the winner of the 2016 Daytona race, will start second.

The top five is completed by Clay Greenfield, Dalton Sargeant and Noah Gragson.

The father-son combo of Joe and John Hunter Nemechek will start 13th and 14th.

Ben Rhodes, who was the last to qualify in the first round, will start 24th.

Click here for qualifying results.