Austin Dillon to start on pole for Clash

Getty Images

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Austin Dillon will start on the pole for Sunday’s Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona International Speedway after a random draw Saturday night.

The non-points race is for full-time drivers who won a pole last year, made the playoffs last year or are former Daytona 500 pole winners. Seventeen drivers will compete in the 75-lap race (Green flag is scheduled for 3:24 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1).

Dillon will be joined on the front row by Denny Hamlin. Hamlin and Kevin Harvick, who will start ninth, have each won this event three times, most among active drivers.

Joey Logano, who won this event last year, will start third.

The starting positions were determined by a blind draw as selected by youth racers.


1 — Austin Dillon

2 — Denny Hamlin 

3 — Joey Logano

4 — Erik Jones

5 — Jimmie Johnson

6 — Martin Truex Jr.

7 — Kasey Kahne

8 — Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

9 — Kevin Harvick 

10 — Kyle Larson

11 — Ryan Newman

12 — Chase Elliott

13 — Kyle Busch 

14 — Kurt Busch

15 — Ryan Blaney

16 — Jamie McMurray

17 — Brad Keselowski

 and on Facebook