Getty Images

Breaking down Cup team win totals ahead of 2018 season

Leave a comment

A new year dawns today and with it comes the prospect of another NASCAR season, including another 36 Cup points races to be held.

That’s another 36 races for the rulebook to be rewritten.

That includes win totals among Cup teams.

Of the active teams in Cup, Hendick Motorsports leads all competition with 249 wins. Trailing far behind them in second is Joe Gibbs Racing with 148 wins.

JGR would have to win every race from 2018-19 and the first 29 races in 2020 before it would even tie HMS.

Hendrick Motorsports began in 1984. Thirty-four years later, the only teams competing in Cup that have wins that were also competing in 1984 are Hendrick, Wood Brothers Racing and Richard Childress Racing.

Richard Petty owned the defunct Petty Enterprises then, a separate organization from Richard Petty Motorsports, which formed in 2009.

Here’s a look at the win totals for every active Cup team that has at least one win.

Hendrick Motorsports – 249 wins (four in 2017)

Joe Gibbs Racing – 148 wins (eight in 2017)

Roush Fenway Racing – 137 wins (two in 2017; first wins since 2014)

Richard Childress Racing – 107 wins (two in 2017; first wins since 2013)

Team Penske – 104 wins (four in 2017)

Wood Brothers Racing – 99 wins (one in 2017; first since the 2011 Daytona 500)

Stewart-Haas Racing – 39 wins (three in 2017)

Furniture Row Racing – 14 wins (eight in 2017)

Chip Ganassi Racing – 11 wins (four in 2017) (five wins came as Earnhardt Ganassi Racing from 2009-13)

Richard Petty Motorsports – Five wins (last was in 2014)

Front Row Motorsports – Two wins (last was in 2016)

JTG-Daugherty Racing – One win (in 2014)


Driver-to-Driver with Jimmie Johnson: ‘I’ve got a lot to prove still’

Leave a comment

Jimmie Johnson is in his 17th year of full-time Cup racing and is in the midst the longest winless streak of his career at 42 races.

But the seven-time champion’s competitive drive is as strong as ever.

Johnson sat down with NBC Sports’ Dale Jarrett to discuss his career at this point in the latest edition of Driver-to-Driver.

“I can honestly say I spend more time now than I did my rookie year focusing on my job,” Johnson said. “I think that the support I have from my wife (Chandra), my kids are 7 and 4, to have them watch me be passionate about something has another meaning I didn’t anticipate coming. I’m lovin’ what I’m doing. I wish the results were a little better than what we have right now, but the process of what I’m going through is really fun.”

Hendrick Motorsports as a whole is in a slump. The team is in the middle of the second longest winless streak in its history at 35 races.

Johnson admits it’s hard to know when the right time will be for him to retire.

“The thing I can pull out of it is, don’t pick a number, make sure that fire’s gone out and that fire hasn’t gone out,” Johnson said. “The other thing that’s weighing on me, I don’t want to go out not at my fullest potential and not on my terms. The last thought that’s going to run through my mind is to walk away or, ‘Oh, it’s not going right, time to stop.’ Uh uh. I know I still got it. I’m going to go down swinging. I’ve got a lot to prove still.”

Watch the above video for more.


New Hampshire Cup race in rain delay

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Foxwoods Resort & Casino 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway is in a rain delay.

The race was scheduled to begin at 1 p.m. ET. The start time had been moved up from 2 p.m. ET due to the threat of weather.

Kurt Busch is on the pole and Martin Truex Jr. will start second.

Check back for more.

Staff picks for today’s Cup race at New Hampshire

Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Here’s a look at who the NBC Sports staff is picking to win today’s Cup race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Nate Ryan

Denny Hamlin. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver rediscovers his magic here and locks into the playoffs.

Dustin Long

Martin Truex Jr. wins back-to-back races for the first time in his career.

Daniel McFadin

Kevin Harvick earns a career-best sixth win of the season.

Dan Beaver

Martin Truex Jr. is getting into the same groove he had last year. This week he catches Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch. Next week, he starts to pull away,

Today’s Cup race at New Hampshire: Start time, lineup and more

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Cup Series holds its only race of the year at New Hampshire Motor Speedway today with the Foxwoods Resort & Casino 301.

Kurt Busch starts on the pole and Martin Truex Jr. starts second.

Here’s all the info you need for today’s race.

(All times are Eastern)

START: The command to start engines will be given by Jean Swift, treasurer of Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Counsel, at 12:51 p.m. The green flag is scheduled to wave at 1 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 301 laps (318.46 miles) around the 1.058-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 75. Stage 2 ends on Lap 150.


PRERACE SCHEDULE: Garage opens at 7:30 a.m. Driver/crew chief meeting is at 11 a.m. Driver introductions are at 12:05 p.m.

NATIONAL ANTHEM: Vanessa Salvucci will perform the anthem at 12:45 p.m. The Canadian National Anthem will be performed by Kirk Young at 12:42 p.m.

TV/RADIO: NBCSN will broadcast the race beginning at 1 p.m. Coverage begins at noon with Countdown to Green on NBCSN. Performance Racing Network’s radio broadcast begins at noon p.m. and also can be heard at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will have PRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: calls for a high of 70 degrees and a 78 percent chance of rain and storms at the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Denny Hamlin won this race last year over Kyle Larson. Kyle Busch won the playoff race over Larson.

TO THE REAR: Landon Cassill (backup) and Michael McDowell (backup).

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for the complete starting lineup.