Chevrolet shut out of victory lane in Cup playoffs for first time

Getty Images

Kyle Larson was Chevrolet’s only hope.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver ran in third place in the closing laps of the Cup Series season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Despite close racing, the 25-year-old driver was unable to pass Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr. for the win.

When the checkered flag flew, Larson was one of two Chevy drivers in the top five, followed by Chase Elliott in fifth.

Had Larson found a way to get around Busch and Truex’s Toyotas, he would have delivered Chevy’s first – and only – win of the postseason.

The manufacturer went without a win in the Cup postseason for the first time since NASCAR changed how it crowned its Cup champion in 2004.

Toyota won eight playoff races and Ford claimed the other two.

Larson earned the last Chevrolet win in the regular-season finale at Richmond Raceway.

In all, Chevrolet visited Victory Lane 10 times in the first 26 races of the season. Toyota and Ford each won eight.

Here’s how many postseason races Chevrolet has won in each year of the playoffs.

2004 – Seven wins, all consecutively

2005 – Four wins

2006 – Eight wins

2007 – Seven wins

2008 – Four wins

2009 – Six wins, including five in a row

2010 – Five wins

2011 – Seven wins, five by Tony Stewart

2012 – Four wins in the last four races

2013 – Six wins, four in a row

2014 – Six wins, including final four races

2015 – Four wins, three in a row

2016 – Five wins

2017 – Zero wins

In 14 seasons, Chevrolet has won 73 of 140 playoff races.