Chip Ganassi Racing pit crew department wins Comcast Community Champion Award


Comcast awarded its third annual Comcast Community Champion of the Year Award Thursday night to the Chip Ganassi Racing pit crew department.

The group was awarded $60,000 for its philanthropic efforts in the Charlotte, North Carolina, area. They were in contention with the foundations of Cup drivers Brad Keselowski and Jimmie Johnson. Both foundations received $30,000.

The CGR pit crew, led by coaches Shaun Peet and Mike Metcalf, was nominated for its work with Ronald McDonald House of Charlotte, Charlotte Rescue Mission, Camp Care and Barium Springs Home for the Children. They have participated in clothing drives, disaster relief cleanup, building clean up and restoration and more.

The department also leads a yearly bicycle drive called the “Race to the North Pole,” which in 2016 donated more than 150 children’s bicycles to the Ronald McDonald House of Charlotte.

The $60,000 award will be donated to the Ronald McDonald House of Charlotte.

“It’s huge for our team to win the Comcast Community Champion of the Year Award. We’ve always wanted to serve behind the scenes, but having the opportunity to bring awareness to the people and organizations we’re passionate about is a huge honor,” Metcalf in a press release. “Winning this award reminds us that it isn’t the Victory Lane hats, the trophies and the wins that impact others most in life, it’s about making a difference.”

The Chip Ganassi Racing pit crew department was chosen by a panel of judges consisting of former NASCAR driver Kyle Petty, reporter Holly Cain, 2016 Comcast Community Champion Wade Jackson and executives from Comcast and NASCAR.