Kyle Larson wins Stage 1 of Can-Am 500 at Phoenix Raceway


Kyle Larson led the final eight laps to win Stage 1 of the Cup playoff race at Phoenix Raceway.

Larson took the lead with a pass of playoff driver Denny Hamlin, who led 40 of the stage’s 75 laps. The Can-Am 500 is the final elimination race of the playoffs.

Hamlin is one of five drivers trying to secure the last open spot in next week’s championship race. He entered the race 19 points behind Brad Keselowski, who is fourth in the standings.

Larson led Hamlin, Chase Elliott, Matt Kenseth, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Erik Jones, Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Newman and Jimmie Johnson.

Pole-sitter and playoff driver Ryan Blaney led the first 10 laps before losing the lead to Elliott. Blaney finished the stage in 13th.

Keselowski was the lowest finishing playoff driver, placing 17th.

There were no cautions in the stage.

Stage 2 will end on Lap 150.