Seven Cup teams to be penalized practice time

Getty Images

AVONDALE, Arizona – Seven Cup teams, including playoff contender Chase Elliott, will miss time in today’s final practice session at Phoenix Raceway.

Erik Jones will be docked 30 minutes because his car failed inspection before qualifying Friday three times.

Ty Dillon, Corey LaJoie and Matt DiBenedetto will be docked 15 minutes in final practice for failing inspection twice before qualifying Friday.

Elliott, Joey Logano and Chris Buescher will miss 15 minutes of final practice because their cars failed inspection before last weekend’s race at Texas.

Final practice is from 2 – 2:50 p.m. ET on NBCSN.