Kyle Larson has narrow lead over Martin Truex Jr. on playoff grid following Kentucky

Getty Images
1 Comment

With eight races left in the regular season, there are still only 10 drivers qualified for the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs based on wins.

Only 16 teams qualify for the playoffs.

The last two races at Daytona and Kentucky were won by repeat winners, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Martin Truex Jr.

The last new driver to qualify was Kevin Harvick for his win at Sonoma Raceway. Joey Logano has a win at Richmond, but it was encumbered due to his No. 22 Ford failing post-race inspection.

Kyle Busch is third on the grid and leads all drivers who are winless at this point.

If the regular season ended today, Erik Jones, Daniel Suarez, Trevor Bayne and Dale Earnhardt Jr. would be the first four drivers out of the playoffs based on points.

Though Kyle Larson has a one-point lead over Truex on the playoff grid, Truex leads all drivers with 28 playoff points after his Kentucky win. Jimmie Johnson is next with 16.

Below is the full playoff grid through 18 races this season.

 and on Facebook