Today’s Cup race at Michigan: Start time, weather, TV/radio info

Getty Images

Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Chase Elliott, Jamie McMurray, Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth and Clint Bowyer have yet to win a Cup race this season. Can any of them breakthrough today?

Here are the particulars for today’s race:

(All times are Eastern)

START: Thompson Square will give the command for drivers to start engines at 3:07 p.m. The green flag is scheduled for 3:16 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 200 laps (400 miles) around the 2-mile speedway.


STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 60. Stage 2 ends on Lap 120.

PRERACE SCHEDULE: The Cup garage opens at 9:30 a.m. The drivers meeting is at 1 p.m. Driver introductions are at 2:20 p.m.

NATIONAL ANTHEM: Lisa Bascom will perform the Anthem at 3:02 p.m.

TV/RADIO: Fox Sports 1 will broadcast the race at 3 p.m. Its coverage begins at 2 p.m. Motor Racing Network will broadcast the race on radio and at MRN’s coverage begins at 2 p.m. SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry MRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: The site predicts 79 degrees at race time with a 15 percent chance of rain at the start of the race.

LAST YEAR: Joey Logano led the 138 of 200 laps to win this event a year ago. Chase Elliott was second. Kyle Larson placed third. Larson scored his first career Cup win in August at Michigan. Elliott was second. Brad Keselowski finished third.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for starting lineup

TO THE REAR: Jimmie Johnson (backup), AJ Allmendinger (backup), Landon Cassill (backup), Daniel Suarez (unapproved tire), Ty Dillon (qualifying time disallowed for unapproved body modification)