Big wreck on last lap at Dover as Jimmie Johnson ties Yarborough with 83rd win


After a restart on the fifth lap of overtime in Sunday’s AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway, a major wreck occurred involving several cars.

Race leader Jimmie Johnson had passed the overtime line on the backstretch before the yellow flag, securing his 83rd victory that tied him with Cale Yarborough for sixth on NASCAR’s all-time wins list. It was also extended Johnson’s record of wins at Dover to 11 victories.

Among drivers involved in the wreck were Ty Dillon, Erik Jones, Jamie McMurray, Kasey Kahne, A.J. Allmendinger, Ryan Newman, Austin Dillon, Trevor Bayne and Cole Whitt.