Championship car owner, engine builder Robert Yates voted into NASCAR Hall of Fame (video)


Receiving 94 percent of the vote, Robert Yates was the first member announced in the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s 2018 class.

Yates, 74, is the former owner of Robert Yates Racing and founder of Robert Yates Racing Engines. Yates won the 2000 Cup Series championship with Dale Jarrett and his 57 Cup wins as team owner include three Daytona 500 victories.

Drivers who competed for Yates include, Jarrett, Davey Allison, Ricky Rudd, Ernie Irvan and Elliott Sadler. Jarrett, an analyst for NASCAR America and a Hall of Famer, said he would not be in the Hall of Fame without Yates.