Kyle Larson continues to lead both driver standings and stage points

Getty Images

Kyle Larson not only continues to lead the NASCAR Cup points standings after the first 10 races of the 2017 season, he also leads in total stage points.

Although Larson has earned only two stage wins, his consistency and ability to finish in the top-10 in most stages has helped propel him to the top of the stage points list with 121 points.

Martin Truex Jr. leads all Cup drivers with five stage wins, but he’s ranked second in the total stage points with 114, seven behind Larson. Both Larson and Truex also have single race wins this season, as well.

One of the most telling statistics is the difference between Brad Keselowski and Jimmie Johnson. Both drivers have two wins this season, but Keselowski is third in stage points with 107, which includes two stage wins.

Johnson, on the other hand, is 10th on the total stage points list with only 57. But there’s a key reason for that: Johnson has zero stage wins.

Another interesting note: Kurt Busch won the Daytona 500 and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won Sunday at Talladega. But neither has any stage wins and are tied for 17th place on the stage points list with 17 points apiece.

Here’s how the stage points list looks like after the first 10 races of the 2017 season:


1. Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing 121 2
2. Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Racing 114 5
3. Brad Keselowski Team Penske 107 2
4. Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports 90 2
5. Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing 82 3
6. Ryan Blaney Wood Brothers Racing 71 2
7. Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing 69 0
t-8. Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing 63 1
t-8. Joey Logano Team Penske 63 1
10. Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports 57 0
11. Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing 49 1
12. Erik Jones Furniture Row Racing 35 0
13. Ryan Newman Richard Childress Racing 28 0
14. Matt Kenseth Joe Gibbs Racing 25 1
15. Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing 24 0
16. Dale Earnhardt Jr. Hendrick Motorsports 19 0
t-17. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing 17 0
t-17. Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing 17 0
19. Trevor Bayne Roush Fenway Racing 11 0
20. Danica Patrick Stewart-Haas Racing 10 0
t-21. Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing 7 0
t-21. AJ Allmendinger JTG Daugherty Racing 7 0
t-23. Kasey Kahne Hendrick Motorsports 4 0
t-23. Paul Menard Richard Childress Racing 4 0
25. Ty Dillon Germain Racing 2 0

Powered by WordPress VIP