Staff picks for today’s Talladega race

Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images
1 Comment

Here’s a look at who the NBC Sports staff is picking to win today’s NASCAR Cup race at Talladega Superspeedway.

Nate Ryan

Kyle Busch. Only one win here (April 2008, his first season with Joe Gibbs Racing), but two runner-up finishes here … most recently last year. If he can solve how to outduel Brad Keselowski, he can win here again.

Dustin Long

Kevin Harvick. He’s in a Ford, he’s good, and he’ll be in Victory Lane when this race ends.

Daniel McFadin

I’m taking a page from Nate’s playbook and I’m going to pick Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the restrictor-plate races until he wins one (I did pick him in the Daytona 500).

Jerry Bonkowski

Sentiment tells me Dale Earnhardt Jr. But it’s hard to ignore how Team Penske has won four of the last five races at Talladega. Even with crew chiefs for both Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski on suspension, Logano wins it.