William Byron on pole, Erik Jones alongside in today’s Xfinity race at Phoenix

Getty Images

William Byron and Erik Jones will start from the front row after qualifying for this afternoon’s DC Solar 200 NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Phoenix Raceway.

Byron earned his first career Xfinity Series pole with a top speed of 133.487, while Jones was just a few ticks away at 133.432 mph, putting him on the outside of the front row.

Austin Dillon (133.033) was third-fastest, followed by Blake Koch (132.724), Justin Allgaier (132.694), Xfinity points leader Elliott Sadler (132.387), Darrell Wallace Jr. (132.246), Matt Tifft (132.222), Cole Custer (132.052) and Brendan Gaughan (131.960).

Eight drivers did not make it through pre-qualifying inspection in time and did not make qualifying attempts, leaving them to start at the back of the field in today’s race. Those drivers were: Ryan Blaney, Daniel Suarez, Daniel Hemric, Dakoda Armstrong, Brandon Jones, Ross Chastain, B.J. McLeod and Stephen Leicht.

The race starts this afternoon at 4 p.m. ET and will be televised on Fox.

Click here for the full qualifying session results.

Follow @JerryBonkowski